Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals ,and use 
Cite button
Exercise:
Search Tips:
Full text and/or Peer reviewed and/or Scholarly journals
Public Company Information. Corporate Filings including 10Q, 10K, MD&A, Annual Report, News.
Publicly traded companies are required to submit corporate filings such as annual reports, proxy circulars, prospectuses etc. with the securities regulatory authority.
SEDAR Canadian Securities Regulatory Authorities.
The official site providing access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA). The SEDAR collection includes reports from 1997 or later.
Public Website: [ http://www.sedar.com/ ]
EDGAR US Securities Commission. Mid-1990s-present Publicly traded US and Non-US companies
The 'SEC's EDGAR provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.
Public Website: [ https://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml ]
Exercise: Search for a Public Company.
Read some of the recent documents filed with the regulating agency.
Business and Management Discussion & Analysis MD&A documents are strategic documents.
Is there any information that is useful to your project?
Private Company Information
Since private companies in Canada and the US are not obligated to make public their financial data, finding reliable sources of this information can be difficult or impossible. Sometimes the best you can do is to piece together an estimate based on market share, industry type, and other information found in these databases.
Also Search:
Start with the Library Catalogue Quick Search. You can enter journal titles, database titles, demographic resources and keywords.
Background Information:
Library Resources: Some company SWOT Analysis can be found in Business Source Complete. Find company profiles in PrivCo (private companies in Canada). Search Candian, BC and Vancouver business press and trade publications on CBCA Business database to find local company business news.
Internet Resources: Search the Company websites, read the 'about' and 'press releases' but remember, they can be biased and rarely share any negative information. Search Sedar/Edgar for publicly traded company information, Business and Management Discussion & Analysis documents, annual reports, financial statements. Search Canadian, BC and Vancouver business press and trade publications to find business news on companies.
Environment Analysis:
Library Resources: Industry Reports and Analysis can be found in Business Souce Complete & Passport GMID.
Internet Resources: Search the internet for Industry and Professional Association, many have annual reports with financial and statistical data. BC government websites have excellent regional industry data.
Organizational Culture:
Library Resources: Search CBCA Business database local business magazines and newspapers for company news articles and interviews. Search through Business in Vancouver (library has a subscription).
Internet Resources: Search the company website management bios, job postings,