Aircraft Maintenance & Gas Turbines

1) Download the Onelog software here.
 

2) Click on the downloaded file. This will launch an installer which will guide you through the next steps. 

•  If you are presented with any security-related message, choose “Run anyway”.
•   Accept the end-user license agreement (EULA) and click “Next”.
•   Accept the default installation path and click “Next”.
•   Accept the default Onelog server address and choose “Secure (https)” and click “Next”.
•   For installation on your personal computer (e.g. non-BCIT laptop), choose “Off-site Mode”. For installation on a BCIT lab PC, select "Network Mode." Click "Next."
• Check the box(es) corresponding to the browser(s) you normally use and click “Next”.
• Check “Start Onelog client after installation” and click “Next”.
• Click “Install”.
   

3) After the main software is installed, your browser(s) should launch and prompt you to install the Onelog browser extension(s). If they do not, visit this site in each browser to download and install the extension(s).
Note: Please do not skip this step as a browser extension is required in order to use Onelog.
 

4) When prompted to log in, type in your BCIT email prefix as username (that is, the first part of your email, without the “@my.bcit.ca” or “@bcit.ca” part) and your usual BCIT password. You should then be able to access all of our Onelog-compatible databases. Typically, the databases will present you with a login page, but the username and password will have already been filled by Onelog. You may still need to click on a "Log in" or “OK” button to confirm and enter the database.
 

If you have installed the Onelog software and its browser extension(s) and are still unable to access the databases, please see the “Troubleshooting” tab. If you are still having issues, please contact libsys@bcit.ca.

Note: Onelog is currently not compatible with MacOS devices. Instead, we recommend using the mobile version, which should be compatible with most iPhone and Android smartphones. 

Also note that some of our databases may only be available on the PC version of Onelog.

To get started with the mobile version of Onelog:

1. Launch an Internet Browser and navigate to the Onelog page.
    
2. Sign in with your BCIT email prefix as username (that is, the first part of your email, without the “@my.bcit.ca” or “@bcit.ca” part) and your usual BCIT password.
    
3. Click on the "Mobile" tile: 
   
    
4. Registration. Once on the registration site, you can use any email address you have access to. As for the password, follow the specific instructions on the website. You will then receive an email containing a confirmation link. Ideally, view this email from your mobile device (if you're installing Onelog on a mobile device). You must click the confirmation link within 24 hours to activate your registration. If you do not click within this time, you will have to return to the registration screen and register again.
   
    
5. Installing the app. After clicking the confirmation link, you will be taken to a page with download links for the various types of devices. Click on the link corresponding to your device and install the app. Alternatively, you can also locate the app by searching for “Onelog Mobile” in your usual app store.
    
6. Launching the app for the first time. The first time you access the app, you will be asked to provide your email and password. The app will also ask you to create a 4-number PIN. For subsequent uses, this PIN will be asked in place of your email/password.
    
7. Accessing the databases. From the main screen (“My Onelog”), click “Resources”. Choose the database you want to access from the list. Note: Some databases are accessible via mobile but have not necessarily been optimized for mobile use. As such, results may vary in terms of actual display and usability.

If you’re having issues installing Onelog, please contact libsys@bcit.ca.

Note: These tips apply to the use of Onelog on PC/Windows.
 

- If you have already installed Onelog and it does not appear to be working, check the Windows system tray at the bottom right of your screen. If the Onelog icon is not present at all, open the Windows Explorer, go to C:\Program Files (x86)\ITS\Onelog\Client\ and double-click on LoginApplication.exe.

- If the Onelog tray icon shows a small yellow triangle instead of a green check mark, please ensure that you are using the right credentials by right-clicking the icon and choosing "Login". If the problem persists, restart your computer.

- Verify that the Onelog browser extension has the required permissions to interact with all the databases you visit. On chrome, in the top right corner, click on the blue Onelog icon and make sure that Onelog can "read and change data" on "all sites". In Firefox, do Ctrl-Shift-A and check the Onelog add-on for permissions.

- Sometimes, the Onelog icon gets a blue checkmark with a "logging in" message, but it never actually logs in. The solution: 
  - Start the Task Manager by pressing Ctrl+Shift+Esc.
  - In the "Process" tab, find "LoginApplication.exe". Right-click on it and choose "End Process"
  - Restart Onelog from the Start menu.

- If Onelog appears to be installed correctly but does not work with any of the resources, try the following:

   - Go to the Windows Start menu > Accessories > Command Prompt.

   - Type regedit and click Enter.

   - In the pane on the left, click on the arrows to navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > Wow6432Node > ITS > Onelog > Client.

   - At this point you should see the following highlighted settings. If not, change as needed.

If all else fails, please contact libsys@bcit.ca.