Architecture: Getting Started

Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, and various areas of architecture and architectural design. Features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for journals, books, and podcasts.

Indexes art, architecture, and urban planning articles.

All Code publications are now available under the "Public Library" collection.

BC Building Code 2006 --BC Building Code 2012 --BC Building Code 2018 --BC Fire Code 2006 --BC Fire Code 2012 --BC Fire Code 2018 --BC Plumbing Code 2012 --BC Plumbing Code 2018 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2014 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2007.

Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.

Includes 2,800+ academic journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa and World Heritage Sites: Africa.

Comprehensive content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.

Information on over 7,000 of today's most innovative materials.
Note: Clicking the "Sign up" button allows you to create an account, but that is not required to access the database. Creating an account lets you save materials to a personal board in the Workspace section of the site, and then share that board with others, export it, etc.

ProQuest Central covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Key publications include The Economist, New Statesman, Billboard, Variety, Macleans, Atlantic Monthly, Wall Street Journal, Nature, and many more. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all in one place.

Please note that some browsers may require a private session to connect successfully.

Following in the tradition of Lynda.com LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform that features instructive videos on a wide variety of subjects, including business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.

Privacy protection information:
When you login to LinkedIn Learning you will be presented with an option to link your existing LinkedIn account (if you have one) to your new LinkedIn Learning account. This is not required, and is in fact not recommended by the Library because of privacy issues.
If you decide to link your LinkedIn account please be aware that your first name, last name and email address will be sent to LinkedIn Learning servers in the United States.
If in doubt, please do not link your LinkedIn account to your new LinkedIn Learning account - you can always do that later.

AVON delivers 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counselling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will also find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.

Criterion-on-Demand is a streaming video collection that includes a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. The title selections include 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub.

Includes materials for automotive technology, building and technical trades, engineering technology and technical communication.