LibGuides: Interior Design: Getting Started

Welcome to BCIT Library

a quick intro on using First Search to find good stuff at the library

find out where the group study rooms, silent spaces and nap pods are

there is a lot more than books to check out at BCIT Library

all the ways you can ask library and research related questions

Research Methods

Interior Design: Principles and Approaches and Textbooks Interior Design Research Methods by Lily B. Robinson
ISBN: 9781501327810

Publication Date: 2023
Human Factors in the Built Environment by Linda L. Nussbaumer
ISBN: 9798765104088

Publication Date: 2025
Interior Design and Architecture: critical and primary sources by Mark Taylor (Editor)

Electronic Databases and Resources

Fairchild Books Interior Design Library
Fairchild Books Interior Design Library offers all-in-one digital access to just under 70 acclaimed textbooks and dedicated supplementary resources from Fairchild Books, to support course delivery and learning across the entire interior design curriculum.

IES Lighting Library by Illuminating Engineering Society,
The Lighting Library™ is the new online platform that updates, expands, and replaces the 2010 Lighting Handbook and previous versions of all IES standards. Contains full set of IES standards, divided into five Collections, with features that allow you to annotate, bookmark, find references and utilize the exclusive Interactive Illuminance Selector tool.
N.B.: Access is only possible using Onelog. Review the Context tab and then follow procedures for either PC or Mac.

Art & Architecture Source (H.W. Wilson)
Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, and various areas of architecture and architectural design. Features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for journals, books, and podcasts.
JSTOR
Includes 2,800+ academic journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa and World Heritage Sites: Africa.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Key publications include The Economist, New Statesman, Billboard, Variety, Macleans, Atlantic Monthly, Wall Street Journal, Nature, and many more. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all in one place.
Material ConneXion
Information on over 7,000 of today's most innovative materials.
Note: Clicking the "Sign up" button allows you to create an account, but that is not required to access the database. Creating an account lets you save materials to a personal board in the Workspace section of the site, and then share that board with others, export it, etc.
BuildingGreen
Access to 3 integrated databases of authoritative information on sustainable building. All content from Environmental Building News, the directory of building green products listed in GreenSpec®, and 200+ case studies of high performance buildings
Art Index (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes art, architecture, and urban planning articles.
GreenFILE
Articles on all aspects of human impact to the environment, includes government documents and reports. Full-text content.
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 18000 sources on over 60000 topics.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
AVON delivers 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counselling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will also find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.
Knovel
Comprehensive content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
This is a freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. FIND full-text@BCIT indicates articles available via BCIT databases.