Skip to Main Content

Mining & Mineral Exploration: Maps

BC Topographic and TRIM Maps

1:50,000 NTS topographic maps

Discover which NTS map you need by going to BC Geographic Names

Search for the name of a city, river or mountain and discover its latitude & longitude and which NTS map it appears on.

Alternatively, refer to the NTS index that is in the top of the first drawer of 1:50:000 NTS maps

1:20,000 Terrain Resource Information Management (TRIM) topographic maps

We have these maps from roughly the Fraser Valley up to Whistler.

You can find the number of the map you need by searching the GEOBC Topographic Base Map.

Websites - BC Maps & Data

BC Gov Geographic Data & Services
includes links to iMapBC and Topographic Map Viewer
Terrestrial Ecosystem Information (TEI) access to data & maps
Historical National Topographic System
This collection provides open access to digitized historical maps at the 1:50,000 scale, covering towns, cities, and rural areas in Canada over the period of 1948 to the early 21st century. The collection includes 100s of maps of BC from 1924-1984.

Websites - Canadian Maps

The Atlas of Canada
Includes Canada Base Maps Data, Subject Maps (environment, economy, etc.), topographic maps and data, 2006 Census maps
Canadian Geographical Names Database
Search for the officical names in Canada by name, location or feature type. A generalized map shows the relative location.

Other Maps

Country maps, regional maps, road maps, thematic maps, soil survey maps.

Use advanced search to find the call numbers of these maps.
Enter your keyword (e.g. Chilliwack)
Select Map from the content type box
Click Search

Websites - International Maps & Collections

CIA World Factbook
Includes country maps and statistics. PDF versions are better than JPG.
David Rumsey Collection
Contains online historical maps focused on 18th & 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. Zoom in for detailed views.
Electronic Maps from the Perry Castaneda Library
World, country, city, thematic, current interest and historical maps. More links under Cartographic Reference e.g. coordinate systems overviews.

The Collection

BCIT's Map Collection is housed in cabinets on the third floor of the Burnaby Campus Library. Maps can be checked out for 2 days.