LibGuides: Ecological Restoration: Finding Journal Articles

Article Databases

JSTOR
Includes 2,800+ academic journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa and World Heritage Sites: Africa.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on energy, renewable resources, ecosystem, geography, pollution, waste management, environmental law and urban planning. Sponsored by BC Hydro.
Health & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
900+ full text Science Direct journals from current year back to 1995.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Key publications include The Economist, New Statesman, Billboard, Variety, Macleans, Atlantic Monthly, Wall Street Journal, Nature, and many more. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all in one place.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings on engineering topics. Links out to full-text. Also known as Engineering Village.
Agricola
Indexes forestry, agricultural and environmental journal articles and reports. Created by the US National Agricultural Library.
CSA Online: Canadian Standards Association
New Platform for Canadian standards. Please logout at the end of your session.
Note: To view documents, please use the "View Online" button. To download a PDF, please follow these instructions. Printing is not possible, even from a downloaded PDF file.
American Botanical Council
Herbal medicine information from a variety of sources.
Funded by the BCIT Tech Centre.
CanLII
CanLII provides the public with permanent open access to the legal heritage of all Canadian Law, including statues and case law from federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions. Dating from 2000 to present.
Government of Canada publications
Electronic publications of the federal government.

Tips for Searching Online Databases

Search more than one database to improve your chances.

When you are searching with multiple keywords or search terms:

"and" means both terms must show up in your results = fewer results
"or" means either term must show up in your results = more results
"not" means that term must not show up in your results = fewer results
a phrase in quotation marks tells the database to only return results with words in exact order, ie, "stanley park" = much fewer results

Consider limiting your search by:

full-text only
date
peer reviewed or scholarly publications

Check for a Cited References link to find related articles.

Within EBSCOhost web you can use the Cite button to get a properly formatted citation for an article.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
This is a freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. FIND full-text@BCIT indicates articles available via BCIT databases.

Scholarly versus popular

Scholarly versus Popular FAQ
Short guide to the differences between scholarly journals, trade and popular magazines.

Finding Government Reports

Use Google Advanced search techniques to find government reports online. To begin, look for the settings button (bottom right corner) or google Advanced Search.

Limit your results to pdf format (reports are often published as pdfs) by adding filetype:pdf to the search box.

Limit your results to a specific site by adding site: followed by a site or domain name to the search box. You can't limit to multiple site, this must be done one site at a time. Examples of sites where you can find relevant reports include:

.fs.fed.us - federal forestry service

.for.gov.bc.ca - BC ministry of forests

.dfo-mpo.gc.ca - fisheries and oceans

.env.gov.bc.ca - ministry of environment

.fpb.gov.bc.ca - forest practices board, BC

.fish.bc.ca - Pacific Fisheries Resource Conservation Council

.psc.org - Pacific Salmon Commission

.nal.usda.gov - national agriculture library (U.S.)

Example: to find reports on trout in the Fishery and Oceans library, you could enter the following terms in the Google search box:

trout filetype:pdf site:.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Google