LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering: Citing

Citing -- APA 7th ed. and IEEE

A citation or reference is the information given in a bibliography or a database about a particular title, which often includes:

article title or chapter title
periodical title or book title
author(s) or editor(s)
date of publication
publisher name
volume/issue (articles) or edition (books)
page range
electronic access (URL or DOI)

There are many ways to format citations. The style you choose depends on your field and the requirements set by your Instructor.

Template

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of Publication). Title of article: no capital after colon. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), Page Range. URL or DOI

Examples

Print Article

Ellery, K. (2008). Undergraduate plagiarism: a pedagogical perspective. Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education, 33(5), 507-516.

Online Article

Herbst-Damm, K. L., & Kulik, J. A. (2005). Volunteer support, marital status, and the survival times of terminally ill patients. Health Psychology, 24, 225-229. doi: 10.1037/0278-6133.24.225

Adapted from UWM Libraries

You can often find all the information you need for a journal article citation on the first page of that article.

**click on image to enlarge it**

Adapted from UWM Libraries

APA Style - a BCIT guide with examples -- 7th edition
Citing Sources / Create Your Bibliography - A UTL Guide
Purdue OWL -- 7th edition.
APA Style Blog -- 7th edition
Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style

APA 6th/7th Comparison Quick Guide
APA 7th Edition Most Notable Changes
This slide presentation was presented as part of EKU's Teaching and Learning Innovation (TLI) Series. It presents info on the most notable changes in the APA's new 7th edtion of its publication manual.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF 76.7 A46 2020
7th edition

The Handbook of Technical Writing
Call Number: T 11 B78 2015
Chapter on Documenting Sources:
APA style on page 136
IEEE style on page 144

1. Database Citation Tools

Many library databases have built-in citations tools that auto-create a citation. The major citation styles are available choices in the databases citation tools.

These citations tools should only be considered a starting point, as they may contain formatting errors - always review auto-created citations to ensure they are correct.

2. Citation managers are tools that can help with your research process, including:

Organize and save citations/articles.	Create in-text citations.
Share citations/articles with colleagues.	Generate Reference Lists in a wide range of styles.

with thanks to MCPHS University

Examples of free citation management tools are: Mendeley and Zotero

Plagiarism

BCIT Policy -- Academic Integrity and Appeals.
BCIT Library Guide -- Avoiding Plagiarism.
An OWL guide on Avoiding Plagiarism, and Understanding Plagiarism.
EBSCO guide for students on How to avoid plagiarism.
Academic Integrity - The Learning Portal

Citation Managers

It's free, so you'll be able to use it forever, even after you leave BCIT.
It saves your digital files to your computer and backs them up in the cloud.
It works seamlessly with Microsoft Word.
It can also be used with Google Docs, LibreOffice, LaTeX, and other text editors.
It automates a lot of processes, like attaching PDFs, that require extra steps in RefWorks.