Skip to Main Content

IEEE Citation: Reference List Examples

Examples

Books

Material Type

Reference List Entry

One Author

 [1] D. Thorpe, Energy Management in Buildings: The Earthscan Expert Guide. New York, NY: Routledge, 2014.

Two Authors

 [2] C. A. Gross and T. A. Roppel, Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2012.

Three Authors

 [3] J. Balfour, M. Shaw, and S. Jarosek, Introduction to Photovoltaics. Burlington, MA: Jones & Bartlette Learning, 2013.

More than Three Authors

 [4] F. Voehl et al., The Lean Six Signma Handbook: Tools and Methods for Process Acceleration. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2014.

Editor

 [5] J. D. Gibson, Ed., Mobile Communications Handbook, 3rd ed. Boca Raton, FL: Taylor & Francis, 2013.

Two Editors

 [6] J. Hoff and A. Kolff, Eds., Hydraulic Fill Manual for Dredging and Reclamation Works. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2012. [Online]. Available: CRCnetBase.

Book Chapter

 [7] T. Erseghe, S. Tomasin, and P. Tenti, "Efficient Management of Locally Generated Powers in Microgrids," in Communication and Networking in Smart Grids, Y. Xiao, Ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2012. [Online]. Available: CRCnetBase, doi: 10.1201/b11897-5

EBook

 [8] J. McNerney and M. Cheek, Clean Energy Nation: Freeing America From the Tyrany of Fossil Fuels. New York, NY: Amacom, 2012. [Online]. Available: Books 24x7.

Editions

 [9] P. Morreale and K. Terplan, Eds., CRC Handbook of Modern Telecommunications, 2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL, 2009. [Online]. Available: CRCnetBASE.

Translation

 [10] H. von Kroge , GEMA: Birthplace of German Radar and Sonar. (Transl.: Louis Brown). Philadelphia, PA : Institute of Physics Pub., 2000. [Online]. Available: CRCnetBASE.

Journal Articles

Material Type

Reference List Entry
EJournal Article [11] M. Rueter, S. Tenbohlen, and W. Kohler, "The influence of network impedance on conducted disturbances within the high-voltage traction harness of electric vehicles," IEEE Trans. Electromagn. Compat., vol. 56, no. 1, pp. 35-43, Feb. 2014. [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore, doi: 10.1109/TEMC.2013.2273564

Print Journal Article

 [12] E. Chan, Z. Huang, and G. Xu, "Position control: build a microcontroller-based stablilization platform," Circuit Cellar, no. 290, pp. 32-39, Sept. 2014
Article in Another Language [13] L. Chalal et al, "Remote Management and Supervision via PROFICLOUD Application to a Water Distribution System," (in French), Eau, l'Industrie, les Nuisances, vol. 421, pp. 57-60, 2019. [Online]. Available: Applied Science & Technology Source. 

Article in Another Language, non-Latin

 [14] 张振宇 et al, "Diagenesis of sandstone and its implications for reservoir quality evaluation in the deep Xishanyao Formation in the central Junggar Basin," (in Chinese), Natural Gas Geoscience, vol. 30, no. 5, pp. 686-700, 2019. Available: Applied Science & Technology Source, doi:10.11764/j.issn.1672-1926.2019.04.002

Websites

Material Type

Reference List Entry
Entire Website [15] The Engineering Institute of Canada. [Website]. http://www.eic-ici.ca/ [Accessed: Feb. 23, 2016].
   
Information from Website [16] National Cancer Institute, "Cell phones and cancer risk," June 24, 2013. [Online]. Available: http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Risk/cellphones [Accessed: Feb. 23, 2016].
 
Report from website [17] R. L. Evans and T. Bryant, " Greenhouse gas emissions from the Canadian oil and gas sector," Trottier Energy Futures Project, 2013. [Online]. Available: http://www.davidsuzuki.org/publications/reports/2014/trottier-energy-futures-greenhouse-gas-emissions-from-the-canadian-oil-and-gas-s/
 
   
Blog [18] E. Ackerman, "Tiny 3D printed robots make teleoperation cheap and simple," IEEE Spectrum. Oct. 2, 2014. [Blog]. Available: http://spectrum.ieee.org/automaton/robotics/diy/tiny-3d-printed-model-robots [Accessed: Oct. 21, 2014].
Tweet [19] C. Gammell, "How appropriate. RT : Today is World Standards Day. Except in the US, which celebrates it on the 23rd. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Standards_Day" Oct. 14, 2014. [Tweet]. Available: https://twitter.com/Chris_Gammell/status/519690980606230531 [Accessed: Oct. 21, 2014].
   

Conferences

Material Type

Reference List Entry
Conference Paper in Print [20] R. Becker, "Summer thermal and energy performance of buildings with internal phase change materials," in Proceedings of the 5th International Building Physics Conf.," Kyoto, Japan, 2012, p. 63.
Conference Paper online [21]  A. Datta, P. Mohanty, and M. Gujar, "Accelerated deployment of Smart Grid technologies in India - present scenario, challenges and way forward," in Innovative Smart Grid Technologies Conf., Washington, DC, 2014, pp. 1-5. [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore, doi:10.1109/SE4SG.2012.6225717 
   
   

Multimedia

Material Type

Reference List Entry

Streaming Video

 [22] Understanding Electricity (Documentary). [Online]. Available: http://youtu.be/mGkU8cHHSMU 

Streaming Video from Database

 [23] Electrical Circuits: Ohm's Law. Crown Point, IN: Beneficial Book & Video, 2006. [Online]. Available: Films on Demand.

DVD

 [24] R. Uth, Director, Tesla: Master of Lightning. Washington, DC: New Voyage Communications, 2007. [DVD].

Image

 [25] "Lighthouse 3000 watt electric bulb." London, UK: National Maritime Museum, circa 1970. [Image]. Available: http://collections.rmg.co.uk/collections/objects/43155

Podcast

 [26] C. Gammell and D. Jones, "#217 - Edifying Edison's energy," The Amp Hour Electronics Podcast. Sept. 22, 2014. [Podcast] Available: http://www.theamphour.com/?powerpress_pinw=3869-podcast

Unpublished Sources

Material Type

Reference List Entry

Personal Correspondence

 [27] H. Ayasso, private communication, Oct., 2014.

Email

 [28] P. Nygen, private communication, Sept., 2014. [Email].

Government and Organizations

Material Type

Reference List Entry
Web Page [29] British Columbia. Ministry of Energy and Mines, “Electricity in British Columbia.” Victoria, BC. [Online]. Available: http://www.empr.gov.bc.ca/EPD/Electricity/Pages/default.aspx [Accessed: October 15, 2014].
Government Publication [30] British Columbia. Ministry of Energy, The BC Energy Plan: A Vision for Clean Energy Leadership. Victoria, BC, 2007. [Online]. Available: http://www.energyplan.gov.bc.ca/PDF/BC_Energy_Plan.pdf
Entire Web Site [31] National Energy Board. Calgary, AB. [Website]. Available: http://www.neb-one.gc.ca/clf-nsi/rcmmn/hm-eng.html [Accessed: Sept. 15, 2014].
Annual Report [32] BC Hydro, Annual Report 2014. Vancouver, BC. [Online]. Available: https://www.bchydro.com/content/dam/BCHydro/customer-portal/documents/corporate/accountability-reports/financial-reports/annual-reports/bc-hydro-annual-report-2014.pdf

Patents

Material Type

Reference List Entry
Patent [33] A. Nirwan and L. Chun-Hao, "Decentralized controls and communications for autonomous distribution networks in smart grid," U.S. Patent US2014249688(A1), Sept. 4, 2014. [Online]. Available: http://worldwide.espacenet.com/publicationDetails/biblio?DB=EPODOC&II=15&ND=3&adjacent=true&locale=en_EP&FT=D&date=20140904&CC=US&NR=2014249688A1&KC=A1
Filed Patent Application [34] V. M. Nebusov, F. Ordubadi Fariborz, and L. R. Ruben, "Photovoltaic module string arrangement and shading protection therefor," Canadian Patent Appl. CA 2763065, Nov. 11, 2011. [Online]. Available: http://brevets-patents.ic.gc.ca/opic-cipo/cpd/eng/patent/2763065/summary.html?query=solar+cells&start=1&num=50&type=basic_search

Newspaper Articles

Material Type

Reference List Entry

Newspaper Article in Print

 [35] S. Ubelacker, "Implant imparts a second chance to see," The Globe and Mail, p. L5, Oct. 16, 2014.

Newspaper Article from the Internet

 [36] E. Steel, "CBS offers web service as TV unbundles itself," The New York Times, Oct. 16, 2014. [Online]. Available: http://www.nytimes.com/2014/10/17/business/cbs-to-offer-web-subscription-service.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&version=HpSum&module=first-column-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news [Accessed: Oct. 16, 2014].

Newspaper Article from a Full Text Database

 [37] J. Nagel, "Use of B.C.'s electric car charging stations doubles in past year," The Leader, Oct. 8, 2014. [Online]. Available: Canadian Newsstand.
Newspaper article with no Author [38] "TD Bank unit settles over data breach," National Post, p. FP4, Oct. 16, 2014.

Statististics

Material Type

Reference List Entry

Statistics from a Website

 [39] BCStats, "Quick facts about BC," 2014. [Online]. Available: http://www.bcstats.gov.bc.ca/StatisticsBySubject/KeyIndicators/QuickFactsAboutBC.aspx [Accessed: Oct., 22, 2014].

Statistics from a Database

 [40] Geographic Research Inc., "Adjusted census data 2011: Vancouver, # total number of private households by household size." [Online]. Available: Simply Map.

 

  

Standards

Material Type

Reference List Entry

Standard Online

 [41] IEEE Standard Test Methods for Surge Protectors Used in Low-Voltage Data, Communications, and Signaling Circuits, IEEE Standard C62.36-2014. [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore.
Standard in Print [42] Standard Terminology Relating to Uninsulated Metalic Electrical Conductors, ASTM Standard B354-12, 2013
   

Theses and Dissertations

Material Type

Reference List Entry

Dissertation (Ph.D.)

 [43] F. C. Huang, "A computational light field display for correcting visual aberrations," Ph.D. dissertation, Dept. Computer Science, U. California, Berkely, CA, 2013. [Online]. Available: http://www.eecs.berkeley.edu/Pubs/TechRpts/2013/EECS-2013-206.pdf

 

  

Thesis (M.S.)

 [44] R. Lin, "Sound living in Vancouver's laneway housing," M.S. thesis, School of Construction and the Environment, BCIT, Burnaby, BC, 2014. [Online]. Available: http://contentpro.lib.bcit.ca/iii/cpro/DigitalItemViewPage.external?sp=1005149

More Examples