|
Library Homepage |
https://www.bcit.ca/library/ |
|
General Information |
|
| Library Branches |
Hours & Locations Aerospace Technology Campus Library (ATC) Marine Campus Library (BMC) |
|
Library Service Hours |
|
|
Library Policies |
Collection Development, Interlibrary Loans, Public Service Policies: https://www.bcit.ca/library/about-the-library/library-policies-service-standards/ Copyright https://www.bcit.ca/library/copyright/ |
|
Group Study Rooms |
Book a Study Room: https://studyrooms.lib.bcit.ca/ |
|
Library Floor Plans |
See 'Maps': https://studyrooms.lib.bcit.ca/ |
|
Circulation / Checkout / Loans Phone Numbers |
Circulation Desk : 604-432-8370 |
|
Reference Desk Phone Numbers |
604-432-8371 |
|
Email Address for Reference Questions |
Liaison Librarians contact list: https://www.bcit.ca/library/library-contacts/librarians/ |
|
Resources & Services |
|
|
Library Catalogue |
|
|
Library Search (First Search) |
https://www.bcit.ca/library/ |
|
Indexes & Databases |
|
|
Database Authentication |
Student accounts are automatically created for all currently enrolled students. Students should use their MyBCIT email (e.g. jane_smith@my.bcit.ca) and network / myBCIT password to login. If they have forgotten their password, Student can reset their password via MyBCIT https://my.bcit.ca/cp/home/displaylogin. The Database A-Z list has information on each database license and how to access database https://libguides.bcit.ca/az.php |
|
Research Guides |
Link to Research Guides is on the Library home page. |
|
Citation Guides |
Different programs use different citation styles. Link to Citation Styles is on the right column on Library home page. |
|
Instruction |
Contact Librarians directly for instruction. About: https://www.bcit.ca/library/services-for-faculty-staff/library-instruction-faculty-staff/ |
|
List of Librarians |
Liaison Librarians: https://www.bcit.ca/library/library-contacts/librarians/ |
|
Reserves |
http://innopac.lib.bcit.ca/search/r Search course reserves by course code or instructor name. |
|
BCIT Library - Course Materials |
https://circuit.bcit.ca/eresources/islandora/object/eresources%3Aroot |
|
Interlibrary Loans |
https://www.bcit.ca/library/library-services-for-students/interlibrary-loans-for-students/ |
|
eJournals |
Online Journals https://sy9dj7pb3l.search.serialssolutions.com/ejp/index.html?libHash=SY9DJ7PB3L#/?language=en-US&titleType=ALL |
|
Print Journals |
http://innopac.lib.bcit.ca/search?/eJOURNAL/ejournal/-3,-1,0,B/exact&FF=ejournal |
|
Open Access Repositories |
cIRcuit, BCIT’s Institutional Research Repositoryhttps://circuit.bcit.ca/repository/islandora/object/repository%3Aroot BCIT Open Education Resources Repository https://circuit.bcit.ca/repository/islandora/object/repository%3Aopen_ed |
|
Archives and Digital Collections |
Search BCIT Archives & Special Collections database: https://atom.lib.bcit.ca/ |
|
eResources Emergency Contact |
|
|
Technical Help |
IT Services for Students: https://www.bcit.ca/it-services/for-students/ How to log in (students) https://kb.bcit.ca/student/logging-in-for-students-138/ How to log in (Faculty & Staff) https://kb.bcit.ca/faculty-staff/logging-in-faculty-staff-139/ Printing: https://kb.bcit.ca/student/printing-from-computer-labs-155/ |
|
Writing Centre Contact |
https://www.bcit.ca/learning-commons/the-writing-centre/ |
| Generative AI Guidelines | |
|
MediaWorks |
MediaWorks is a self-service production facility offering drop-in help to students, faculty, and staff in use of VR, Maker, 3D Printing, Design, Graphic, Video Editing. https://www.bcit.ca/library/mediaworks/ For more information contact MediaWorks at 604-454-2220 or stop by our location in the Library at SE14-250. |
|
Summit Centre for Entrepreneurship |
Summit Centre (SE14 – Library, 2nd floor) is a hub for entrepreneurship at the BCIT. More info: https://www.bcit.ca/summitcentre/. |
|
Borrowing Information |
|
|
Library Cards |
All borrowers must present a valid BCIT ID Card to borrow materials. https://www.bcit.ca/card/ |
|
Loan Periods |
Students: https://www.bcit.ca/library/library-services-for-students/students-borrowing-materials/ Faculty & Staff: https://www.bcit.ca/library/services-for-faculty-staff/faculty-staff-borrowing-materials/ |
|
Holds / Recalls / Requests |
Requests (Holds) may be placed on circulating items. https://www.bcit.ca/library/library-services-for-students/students-borrowing-materials/ |
|
Renewals |
Library materials can be renewed up to 5 times providing no holds have been placed on the items. Sign in to Your Library Account to renew items. Reserve materials and Interlibrary Loans are non-renewable. |
|
Fines / Penalties |
BCIT Library fines https://www.bcit.ca/library/library-services-for-students/students-borrowing-materials/ |
|
Borrowing Policies |
Library Public Services Policy : Borrowers https://www.bcit.ca/files/library/pdf/bcit-policies-lib200.pdf |
|
Library Account Information |
Log into http://innopac.lib.bcit.ca/patroninfo Student accounts are automatically created for all currently enrolled students. Students should use their BCIT ID number (e.g. A00123456) and network / myBCIT password to login. |
|
After hours book returns |
After library hours, return materials to one of the outside book drops at the Library building entrance. Material may be returned to any BCIT Campus library. Similar arrangements are available at BMC and ATC. Material may also be returned to the drop boxes located at ATC, and DTC. |
|
Equipment & Facilities |
|
|
Internet Access |
Internet via computers in the library: https://www.bcit.ca/library/library-questions/ IT: Internet access for students https://kb.bcit.ca/student/computer-lab-student-access-103/ |
|
Wireless Access |
Wireless access is available throughout the entire Library. IT: Services Wireless and Internet https://kb.bcit.ca/student/wireless-resources-287/ |
|
Photocopiers |
There are no photocopiers in the Burnaby Campus library. There are two free scanners on the main floor outside of MediaWorks. |
|
Printers |
There is a printer located on each floor of the Burnaby Campus Library and in the Aerospace Campus Library. The printers work with the student's ID card and the pay print system. If needed students can ask for help at the checkout desk. How to print: https://kb.bcit.ca/student/printing-from-computer-labs-155/ (the above link includes information on how to use the pay print system with a student's personal device) |
|
Scanners |
There are self-serve scanners inside the Library on the main floor. There is a scanner in the ehPOD on Level 1 of the Burnaby Campus Library. Ask for help at the checkout desk. |
|
Microfilm / Microfiche |
Aerospace campus has microfiche holdings - ATC - Microform |
|
Meeting / Study Rooms |
Students may Book a Study Room online: https://studyrooms.lib.bcit.ca/ Instructors wishing to book Meeting or Training rooms should contact Mei Young : Mei_Young@bcit.ca |
|
Computer Labs |
Labs by Campus https://kb.bcit.ca/student/computer-lab-student-access-103/ |
|
Campus Information |
|
|
Academic Calendar |
Academic dates & deadlines: https://www.bcit.ca/academic-dates/ |
|
Class Timetable |
See https://my.bcit.ca/ for your personal timetable |
|
Exam Schedules |
Check the Learning Hub, and check with your instructor. |
|
Campus Maps |
Campuses and Directions https://www.bcit.ca/about/visit/campuses-directions/ |
| Campus Security Contact Number | 604-451-6856 |
|
Other Resources |
|
|
AskAway Local Coordinator(s) |
Deirdre Grace (Email: deirdre_grace@bcit.ca) Backup : Alison Griffin (Email: agriffin11@bcit.ca) |