Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First Search (Books, Journals and Media at BCIT Library)
The following electronic resources offer access to articles, books, standards, and other information related to building science. To access these resources from off-campus you will need to login with your myBCIT or network login.
ASTM Book of Standards -- Research Reports -- Special technical publications -- Monorgraphs
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of materials on health of buildings, building technology and systems and architecture. Articles on a wide range of subjects including sciences, technology, health, humanities and current events. Full-text content.
British Columbia Codes This link opens in a new window
All Code publications are now available under the "Public Library" collection.
BC Building Code 2006 --BC Building Code 2012 --BC Building Code 2018 --BC Fire Code 2006 --BC Fire Code 2012 --BC Fire Code 2018 --BC Plumbing Code 2012 --BC Plumbing Code 2018 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2014 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2007.
National Codes Canada - Online Library
Includes National Building Code of Canada 2015, National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2015, National Plumbing Code of Canada 2015, and National Fire Code of Canada 2015.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings on engineering topics. Links out to full-text. Also known as Engineering Village.
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
Contains full text access to: the journals "Building & Environment" and "Energy & Buildings"
Information on over 7,000 of today's most innovative materials. Tip: click on "Materials Database" tab.
Off Campus Access
You can access e-books, e-journals and databases from home.
If you are a current student, faculty or staff member you can login using your MyBCIT or network login. Check our help sheet for tips.
If you are an alumni, community borrower or retiree with a current library account you will need to create a PIN.
You can also contact the Service Desk at 604-432-8370 or by email.