Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First Search (Books, Journals and Media at BCIT Library)
The following databases offer access to articles, books, standards, codes, and other information related to building science. To access these resources from off-campus you will need to login with your myBCIT or network login.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
British Columbia Codes This link opens in a new window
All Code publications are now available under the "Public Library" collection.
BC Building Code 2006 --BC Building Code 2012 --BC Building Code 2018 --BC Fire Code 2006 --BC Fire Code 2012 --BC Fire Code 2018 --BC Plumbing Code 2012 --BC Plumbing Code 2018 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2014 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2007.
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings on engineering topics. Links out to full-text. Also known as Engineering Village.
Information on over 7,000 of today's most innovative materials. Tip: click on "Materials Database" tab.
Health & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text access to: Building & Environment and Energy & Buildings
Sage STM (Science, Technology and Medicine)
The Science, Technology, and Medicine (STM) Packages provide access to 480+ journals, including leading international peer-reviewed titles.
Tips for Searching Online Databases
When you are searching with multiple keywords or search terms:
- "and" means both terms must show up in your results = fewer results
- "or" means either term must show up in your results = more results
- "not" means that therm must not show up in your results = fewer results
Consider limiting your search by:
- full-text only
- peer reviewed or scholarly publications