If you are using images in your assignments:
- Reference images appropriately, like any other source you use in your paper.
- Use the style required for your assignment.
- Keep track of where you found each one. Copy the website or database link so that you can locate your images again.
- Search for something that you can reference, instead of a social media feed which usually has no creator information.
Remember: Images found online need proper attribution!
MedPix® (National Library of Medicine) is a free online database "of medical images, teaching cases and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 19,000 patient case scenarios and nearly 54,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others. Imaging modalities include x-ray, CT, MRI, and ultrasound.
The collection is searchable by keywords, image types, authors, and many other search options."
(National Library of Medicine search engine for biomedical images) enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. For information on using the images check the FAQ.
AIUM Image Gallery
Cancer Imaging Archive - online image archive that consists of CT scans, X-Rays, Mammography, Sonograms, and more of numerous cancers and related diseases.
Eurorad - The online database of the European Association of Radiology. Images can be searched by subspecialties, level of difficulty, or type of case.
History of Medicine collection
Images for Human Anatomy
HEAL - Health Education Asset Library
Public Health Image Library