Books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. The vision of the Indigenous Studies Portal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous studies. This major undertaking is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library. As of January, 2011, the iPortal has more than 25,000 records, including "Our Legacy" archival records recently harvested. This includes photos, anthropological field notes, diaries, correspondence and other textual documents.
The mission of the Two-Spirit Archives is to develop an internationally-renowned centre for research that supports the needs of the Two-Spirit community; makes Two-Spirit people visible in our documentary heritage; and supports the research, teaching, learning, and community mandates of the University. It is guided in its development by the Two-Spirit Archives Advisory Council, which ensures Two-Spirit people are central to preserving the history of their contributions to society and in strengthening their community.
First published in the spring of 1969, BC Studies, a quarterly devoted to the understanding of British Columbia, has played a unique role in the intellectual life of the province. Housed at the University of British Columbia from its inception, BC Studies is a respected peer reviewed journal, an important publishing venue of original research from a diverse group of scholars, and a training ground for students. Through its focus on British Columbia, BC Studiesprovides a regional link between disciplines in the arts and social sciences, between larger analytical literatures and local archival collections, and between the scholarly community and passionate generalists. A typical issue contains four or five articles, twenty-five book reviews by authorities in the field, and a bibliography of books, articles, theses, and government publications on British Columbia. Articles are drawn from a number of fields including anthropology, archaeology, archival sciences, art, art history, demography, economics, education, First Nations and indigenous studies, gender studies, geography, history, linguistics, literature, museology, music, photography, political science, and sociology.
The Canadian Journal of Native Studies is a highly recognized journal in the field of Native Studies. It began as a publication of the Society for the Advancement of Native Studies which is no longer in operation and whose founder; Sam Corrigan; was the Chief Editor from 1981-2008. it comes out on a bi-annual basis, and publishes original research which is refereed by peer review.
The First Nations Health Authority (FNHA) is a health service delivery organization created and mandated to support BC First Nations to implement a number of guiding agreements and documents seeking to elevate BC First Nations health outcomes through the creation a more effective health care system.
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) continues to renew the nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown, government-to-government relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis; modernize Government of Canada structures to enable Indigenous peoples to build capacity and support their vision of self-determination; and lead the Government of Canada's work in the North.
The Faculty of Law has long been dedicated to enhancing the presence of Indigenous scholars and ideas at the law school. Through recruiting Indigenous students to the Faculty, offering innovative courses in Aboriginal and Indigenous law, or providing students with opportunities to put their legal knowledge to work on behalf of Indigenous communities, the Faculty has worked to enhance the Native voice in our educational community.
The Native Law Centre at the University of Saskatchewan was founded in 1975 by Dr. Roger C. Carter whose commitment to social justice issues convinced the University of the need for a Centre to facilitate access to legal education for Indigenous peoples. This was to promote the development of the law and the legal system in Canada in ways which better accommodate the advancement of Indigenous peoples and communities, and to disseminate information concerning Indigenous peoples and the law. Structured initially as an independent special project within the University of Saskatchewan, the Centre became a department of the College of Law in 1984.
The BCAAFC is an innovative organization working collaboratively with its member centres and partners to support urban Indigenous people as they realize their vision of health, wellness, and prosperity.
The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) is a National Indigenous Organization representing the political voice of Indigenous women, girls and gender diverse people in Canada, inclusive of First Nations on and off reserve, status and non-status, disenfranchised, Métis and Inuit. An aggregate of Indigenous women’s organizations from across the country, NWAC was founded on the collective goal to enhance, promote and foster the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of Indigenous women within their respective communities and Canada societies.
The Congress of Aboriginal Peoples (CAP) is one of five National Indigenous Organizations recognized by the Government of Canada. Founded in 1971 as the Native Council of Canada (NCC), the organization was originally established to represent the interests of Métis and non-status Indians. Reorganized and renamed in 1993, CAP has extended its constituency to include all off-reserve status and non-status Indians, Métis and Southern Inuit Aboriginal Peoples, and serves as the national voice for its provincial and territorial affiliate organizations. CAP also holds consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), which facilitates its participation on international issues of importance to Indigenous Peoples.
The First Nations Fisheries Council works with and on behalf of BC First Nations to protect and reconcile First Nations rights and title as they relate to fisheries and the health and protection of aquatic resources. The Council will achieve the mandate by working to: advance and protect First Nations Title and Rights related to fisheries and aquatic resources, including priority access for food, cultural and economic purposes; support First Nations to build and maintain capacity related to fishing, planning, policy, law, management, and decision-making at a variety of scales (local, regional, national and international); and facilitate discussions related to the development of a British Columbia-wide First Nations-based collaborative management framework that recognizes and respects First Nations jurisdiction, management authority and responsibilities.
The Guide to Indigenous Organizations and Services is a resource listing of Indigenous community-based services and organizations.
Information within the Guide changes frequently and we rely upon organizations to provide updates as contact information changes.
The Guide supports the relationship between the Province and Indigenous people and their communities. It provides other community service organizations, government ministries and agencies, and non-Indigenous citizens an insight into the scope of Indigenous services and organizations offered in British Columbia.
Updated July 15, 2019
Indigenous Works, formerly the Aboriginal Human Resource Council, is a national social enterprise that is ISO 9001 certified (quality management system). We were founded as a non-profit national organization in 1998 as a recommendation from the 1996 Report on the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples with a mandate to improve the inclusion and engagement of Indigenous people in the Canadian economy.
The National Aboriginal History Organization or NAHO is an internationally recognized research, publishing, and collection organization. We aim at promoting understanding of Aboriginal cultures, languages, stories, and traditions. Our website aims to connect with Aboriginal people and raise awareness about them.
The First Nations in BC Knowledge Network is a hub for First Nations in the province to share ideas, tools and best practices on many aspects of governance and community development.
The Technology Council's vision is for the First Nations in BC Knowledge Network to be an accessible and engaging platform that fosters the sharing of knowledge and facilitates networking amongst First Nations individuals, communities and organizations.
To work with communities, health professionals and government institutions on Indigenous Health Nursing issues and practices within the Canadian Health system that address particular interest and concern in Indigenous communities with a view to benefiting Indigenous peoples of Canada by improving their health and well-being, physically, mentally, socially and spiritually.
Indigenous Services Canada works with First Nations, Inuit, other federal departments and provincial and territorial partners to support healthy First Nations and Inuit individuals, families and communities. Working with partners we strive to improve health outcomes, provide access to quality health services and support greater control of the health system by First Nations and Inuit. Useful Government of Canada links on various health related topics.
The Institute of Indigenous Peoples' Health (IIPH) fosters the advancement of a national health research agenda to improve and promote the health of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples in Canada, through research, knowledge translation and capacity building. The Institute's pursuit of research excellence is enhanced by respect for community research priorities and Indigenous knowledge, values and cultures.
Learn how Library and Archives Canada (LAC) increases access to Indigenous-related content in its collection and supports Indigenous communities to preserve First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation cultures and languages.
Library and Archives Canada presents photographs from its collection on Residential Schools, taken between 1885 and 1996. This single portal allows easy access to photos from the province or region of your choice. A thumbnail selection will appear, which can be enlarged for better viewing. If you would like to make a copy of a particular photo, simply press print or save.
About the Records: Indian and Inuit Affairs Program sous-fonds: School Files Series, 1879-1953 (RG10-B-3-d) [digitized microfilm reels]
The Residential School system developed before Confederation from missionary and religious roots. After 1867, the federal government began to play a role when it was given constitutional responsibility for Aboriginal peoples.
The First Nations Summit is comprised of a majority of First Nations and Tribal Councils in British Columbia and provides a forum for First Nations in BC to address issues related to Treaty negotiations as well as other issues of common concern