LibGuides: ISEP (International Student Entry): Research

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online (AVON)
AVON delivers 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counselling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will also find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.
Criterion on demand
Criterion-on-Demand is a streaming video collection that includes a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. The title selections include 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.

Oxford English Dictionary online

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words — past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Search the library collections

First Search

Off Campus Access

Login

You can access e-books, e-journals and databases from home if you are a current student, faculty or staff member.
If you are presented with a login screen use the same BCIT email and Password as when you login to the computers on campus.

There is more information on How to login (students) if you're having trouble.

You can also contact the Service Desk by email if you need to establish your current eligibility status.

For other off-campus access problems contact the Research Help Desk.

Top Resources

Study Skills Guide
Created by the BCIT Learning Commons team this page has wonderful resources and science-based tips on topics such as: Time management, Memory, Succeeding on tests, Active learning and much more!

Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 18000 sources on over 60000 topics.
Business Source Complete
Articles on all aspects of business, also includes case studies, e-books, company profiles, country reports, industry reports, investment research reports and market research reports.
Instructors: Before using Harvard Business Review articles from this database in your course, consult this page for copyright and licensing guidance.

List of BCIT Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)
Full text and indexed content from all four subsets: Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference. The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources and includes full-text articles and records from 1933 to current.
Canadian Points of View
Current information on a wide variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words — past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Key publications include The Economist, New Statesman, Billboard, Variety, Macleans, Atlantic Monthly, Wall Street Journal, Nature, and many more. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all in one place.

Research Guides

Link to BCIT research guides

Welcome!

The BCIT Library acknowledges the unceded territories of the Coast Salish Nations of xwməθkwəy̓əm (Musquem), səl̓ilwətaɁɬ (Tsleil-Waututh), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), on which our BCIT main campuses are located.

Your Librarian

Jeff Verbeem

he / him

Email Me

Contact:

e: jverbeem@bcit.ca

p: 604 453 4042

Subjects: Aviation Technology, Business, Computing + Academic Studies, Transportation

ISEP (International Student Entry): Research