LibGuides: Liberal Studies: Getting started

First Search

Search for books, articles, magazines, and everything the BCIT library has to offer all in one pace.

Top resources

To access these resources from off-campus you will need to login with your myBCIT or network login.

JSTOR
Includes 2,800+ academic journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa and World Heritage Sites: Africa.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Key publications include The Economist, New Statesman, Billboard, Variety, Macleans, Atlantic Monthly, Wall Street Journal, Nature, and many more. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all in one place.
Canadian Points of View
Current information on a wide variety of topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
Business Source Complete
Articles on all aspects of business, also includes case studies, e-books, company profiles, country reports, industry reports, investment research reports and market research reports.
Instructors: Before using Harvard Business Review articles from this database in your course, consult this page for copyright and licensing guidance.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words — past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)
Full text and indexed content from all four subsets: Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference. The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources and includes full-text articles and records from 1933 to current.
Business in Vancouver : Magazine
A weekly publication that covers news, events and resources from across British Columbia.
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 18000 sources on over 60000 topics.
Health & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
900+ full text Science Direct journals from current year back to 1995.

Streaming Video databases

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.
Criterion on demand
Criterion-on-Demand is a streaming video collection that includes a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. The title selections include 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
AVON delivers 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counselling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will also find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub. Social showings can also be provided for student groups as long as no admission is charged.

Searching Google Scholar for BCIT Library Resources

Google Scholar can also search through BCIT Library's full text journals and magazines.

Just log-on to Google, and go to Google Scholar.

In the Settings menu -> Library Links window, Search for BCIT.

Check the boxes for 'BCIT - Find @ BCIT', and 'British Columbia Institute of Technology'

Information Cycle

The example in this video is Hurricane Katrina, but think about the coronavirus and the information that is available now versus what will come as look back at how the pandemic has changed our world.

Liberal Studies

Your Librarian

Reference Chat

Off campus access

First Search

Top resources

Streaming Video databases

Searching Google Scholar for BCIT Library Resources

Information Cycle