LibGuides: Automotive : Burnaby Campus: Getting started

Introduction

Welcome to the subject guide for automotive mechanic/technician, motor vehicle body repair & refinishing, and motorcycle & power equipment. Here you will find information about the best resources for your subject and tips for using the Library's databases.

Top Resources for Automotive Repair

Try these recommended resources selected from the list on the Transportation Databases page.

By accessing these resources, you agree to the terms of use which strictly forbid their reproduction, transmission or sharing. Please contact the Library with any questions regarding these terms.

ALLDATA Collision and Repair
Covers 33,000+ engine-specific vehicles from 2000 to present. Includes OE procedures such as sectioning, structural repairs, panel removal and replacement.
Up-to-date OE-direct diagnosis, repair and maintenance information.

Note: This database can only be accessed on campus.
Hobart Institute Welding Collection
Hobart Institute course material streamed online.
No off campus access.
Mitchell ProDemand This link opens in a new window
Automotive repair information, vehicle maintenance, automotive diagnostic data, and labor estimating data.
Access is available only at the Burnaby campus.

Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers. To install Onelog on your personal device(s), see this guide.
Mitchell Truck ProDemand This link opens in a new window
Complete service information for class 4-8 trucks.
Access is available only at the Burnaby and Annacis Island campuses.

Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers. To install Onelog on your personal device(s), see this guide.
Motovisuals
AKA Virtual Visuals MD
Service Manager Pro (SMP 3.0)
Flat rate labour guide covers labor times, technical specifications, service schedules and diagnostic trouble codes for motorcycles, ATVs, personal watercrafts, and snowmobiles. Also includes electrical specifications, and OEM accessories with installation estimates and instructions.

Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers. To install Onelog on your personal device(s), see this guide.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides illustrated guides for maintenance and extensive repair procedures for air-cooled & diesel engines, ATVs, chainsaws and other power equipment.

Motorcycle Vendor logins

SuzukiHub
Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers.
Yamaha Dealers
Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers.

Welcome!

The BCIT Library acknowledges the unceded territories of the Coast Salish Nations of xwməθkwəy̓əm (Musquem), səl̓ilwətaɁɬ (Tsleil-Waututh), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), on which our BCIT main campuses are located.

Librarian

Cindy McLellan

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

604-456-1276

Subjects: Electronics, Engineering, Motive Power, Transportation, Writing + Citing

Identifix Access

Identifix for BCIT Students

Library Services

Book a Study Room
Rooms are available at
- Burnaby Campus
- Downtown Campus
- Marine Campus
- Richmond ATC
iPads and Laptops for Loan
Interlibrary Loan Request
If BCIT Library doesn’t own the book or journal article that you need, we will borrow it from another library. This service is available at no charge for BCIT students and employees.