LibGuides: Trades Discovery: Journal Articles & Databases

Key Print Journals

Just a few of the print magazines available.You will find these and many more journals on the periodical shelf arranged alphabetically by title.

Builder: NAHB, The Voice of America's Housing Industry
Canadian Metalworking
Car and Driver
Collision Quarterly
Construction Canada
Cycle Canada
Hot Rod
Modern Machine Shop
On-Site
Popular Mechanics
Shop Notes
Welding Journal

Key Ejournals

Full-text versions of these journals are available online.

Search for other eJournals from the Advanced Keyword Search page.

Key Ejournals

Can't Find What You Are Looking For...

If BCIT Library doesn’t own the book or journal article that you need, we will borrow it from another library. This service is called Interlibrary Loan or ILL and is available at no charge for BCIT students and employees.

If you have searched the Library Catalogue and the material you need is not listed, use this form to request it from another library:

Interlibrary Services Request

Plagiarism

This digital story is intended to help students understand plagiarism, a form of copyright violation. Students are encouraged to discuss the topic with their instructors to gain a clear understanding

Key Full-text Article Databases

You can view a complete list of databases alphabetically or by subject.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
Business Source Complete
Articles on all aspects of business, also includes case studies, e-books, company profiles, country reports, industry reports, investment research reports and market research reports.
Instructors: Before using Harvard Business Review articles from this database in your course, consult this page for copyright and licensing guidance.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on energy, renewable resources, ecosystem, geography, pollution, waste management, environmental law and urban planning. Sponsored by BC Hydro.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
An Ebsco database featuring full-text articles on all branches of the military and government.

Other Useful Databases

You can view a complete list of databases alphabetically or by subject.

Note: If a database hangs on the “initializing” page, go back to the link page -> press the F12 key -> click on Cache -> click on Clear cookies for domain and try the link again.

Mitchell Truck ProDemand This link opens in a new window
Complete service information for class 4-8 trucks.
Access is available only at the Burnaby and Annacis Island campuses.

Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers. To install Onelog on your personal device(s), see this guide.
Mitchell ProDemand This link opens in a new window
Automotive repair information, vehicle maintenance, automotive diagnostic data, and labor estimating data.
Access is available only at the Burnaby campus.

Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers. To install Onelog on your personal device(s), see this guide.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides illustrated guides for maintenance and extensive repair procedures for air-cooled & diesel engines, ATVs, chainsaws and other power equipment.

Technical Education Video Collection

Off Campus Access

You can access e-books, e-journals and databases from home.

If you are a current student, faculty or staff member you can login using your MyBCIT or network login. Check our help sheet for tips.

You can also contact the Service Desk at 604-432-8370 or by email.