Nursing: Multimedia

• New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) videos -- Videos on clinical medicine and more
• Kanopy -- Popular, and world films and documentaries
• Open Educational Resources created by BC post-secondary faculty and staff  -- Available at BCcampus
• Criterion on demand -- Criterion-on-Demand is a streaming video collection that includes a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. The title selections include 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.   Permissions include - in-class showings; making clips, linking and embedding in the Learning Hub.   Not available for social showings outside of class. Individual viewing only.
• Films on Demand collection. -- Nursing streaming videos
• ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health: -- Contains a diverse mix of resources, including clinical training videos.
• Health Videos: MedlinePlus  -- "These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them."
• Indigenous Studies Streaming Playlist - First Contact -- First Contact takes six Canadians on a 28-day journey intended to challenge these attitudes and shed a light on the true Indigenous experience. The travelers, all with strong opinions about Indigenous people, have been invited to leave their everyday lives behind and embark on a unique journey, travelling deep into the Indigenous communities throughout Canada.
• Medcom, Inc. A series of short videos on a wide range of topics from wound care to assessment of respiratory distress to the fundamentals of hand washing.
• Safetyhub -- SafetyCare streamed video covering a wide selection of topics

• Library of Congress: Selections from the National Film Registry Collection

  The National Film Registry is a list of movies deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" that are earmarked for preservation by the Library of Congress. They are not selected as the "best" American films of all time, but rather as works of enduring importance to American culture. The Librarian of Congress makes the annual selections to the Registry after reviewing hundreds of titles nominated by the public and conferring with Library film curators and the distinguished members of the National Film Preservation Board.

• Library of Congress: National Screening Room Collection

  The National Screening Room is a project of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center. The goal of this digital collection is to present to the widest audience possible movies from the Library's extensive holdings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.

• Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive

  This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. Includes the Prelinger Collection of ephemera film.

• Open Culture: 1,150 Free Movies Online: Great Classics, Indies, Noir, Westerns, etc.

  Several collections of freely available movies online, including titles from Paramount, the Korean Film Archive, and genre films.

• Open Video Collections: From the Digital Video Collections Guide

  An American Library Association Video Round Table Resource. This guide is a list of quality, freely accessible, collections of online video.

Resources for movie clips:

• Critical Commons -- Professors post media analysis through the use of film clips.
• Fandango MovieClips -- Official clips from your favorite movies.

Can't find it for free? These sites are useful for locating a film in a number of streaming services at once:

• JustWatch "All in one place" - Find out which of your streaming services has the title you want to watch.
• ReelGood -- All your streaming services in one place. Browse, search, and watch TV & Movies from over 150 services, Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Disney+, Prime Video, Free Services and more!

Nursing Skills Videos by the BCIT BSN Program (Open Education) 

Bates' visual guide to physical examination ; v. 16 -- Pediatric head-to-toe assessment (child)  I Call Number: RC 76 P43 2005   I  DVD -- 7 Days Loan

• Creative Commons Search

  Images under creative commons licenses from museums and other sites (Wikimedia Commons, Flickr)

• Google Images

  Search for images licensed for reuse by clicking Tools under the search box then Usage Rights

• YouTube

  Search for videos under Creative Commons licenses by clicking Filter then Creative Commons (under Features)

• TED Talks: Environment

  TED Talks from experts on various topics

• Listen Notes

  Search the whole Internet's podcasts; Podcasts are free to students but usually not under CC licenses

• Eskeletons The human skeleton -- and the skeletons of other primates, from the University of Texas Anthropology Department.

• Get Body Smart Offers tutorials and short quizzes.

• History of Medicine collection From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It provides access to over 70,000 digitized images, including portraits, photographs and posters.

• Images for Human Anatomy Creative Commons licenses by Google.

• MedlinePlus: Anatomy From MedlinePlus, this page provides descriptions and pictures of the human body's parts and organ systems from head to toe.

• Visible Human Images Project