LibGuides: Nursing: Drug Resources

Drug and Medication Databases

RxFiles RxFiles is an independent Canadian comparative drug information resource.
UpToDate -- Drug interactions
Ignore REGISTRATION.
Click on "Drug Interactions" and then enter a name. Examples: grapefruit, dronedarone...
Drug Product Database (DPD) - Health Canada Search the DPD to find drugs authorized for sale by Health Canada. It is updated nightly and includes: availability of the drug in Canada, (PM) product monograph for human drugs. labels for animal drugs
HealthLink BC, medications
Drug Information Portal Information available for 71,924 drugs. By name and by category
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) Pregnancy/Lactation -- A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
LiverTox This database provides "information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements." It also includes a case registry
Medscape Medscape membership is free for healthcare professionals and gives you unlimited access to the entire network of sites and services.Drug interaction checker, Pill Identifier, Drugs, OTCs and Herbals
Pill Identifier useful to identify a pill by input of a few identifying clues.
WebMD: Drugs & Medications A-Z

Daily Med
find drug monograph, click "Ingredients and Appearance"
FDA Inactive Ingredient
The risk of inactive ingredients in everyday drugs
article in Harvard Health Letter
Gluten, lactose in drugs?
CTV news report

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference
Call Number: RM 301.12 M67 2023 on RESERVE
2022 on RESERVE
2021, 2020 on the 3rd floor
2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019
2014 Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide
Call Number: eBook
Mosby's Canadian Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests
Call Number: RB 38.2 P341 2019
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals
Call Number: RS 51 M4 2013
CTC 2019 - Compendium of Therapeutic Choices
Call Number: RM 121.5 T54 2018
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care
Call Number: RM 301 L43 2022
Pharmacology for Nurses: a pathophysiologic approach
Call Number: RM 301 A32 2020 on RESERVE
Pharmacology for Canadian Health Care Practice by Kara Sealock; Cydnee Seneviratne; Linda Lane Lilley; Julie S. Snyder
Publication Date: 2020-11-04
on order
Nursing Pharmacology
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
This award-winning textbook is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes. This book is not intended to be used as a drug reference book.