|
Journal locator What to do when you want to read an article but you cannot locate the full text? Use the citation information you have and follow the steps below to check if the BCIT library has the journal where the article is: 1. In the search box below, enter the title of the journal the article is published in (not the article title). Click search. 2. If we have the journal, check the date range (make sure it matches the year your article was published in) and click on the appropriate link. 3. Once you are in the journal, locate a search box (it's different for every journal), copy & paste the title of the article. Click search.
4. If BCIT does not own the full text, request the article through interlibrary loan |
Databases can be discipline specific (such as MEDLINE or CINAHL), or multidisciplinary (such as Academic Search Complete or Proquest). Many contain full text material, some only the reference and abstract.
button, next to the citation/abstract, to locate it.Please Note: Resist the temptation to limit your initial search to full text only, unless you absolutely need the article immediately. You may miss citations for appropriate articles not found in that database but could be found through one of our other databases.
Find more databases by browsing the database list by subject. Health Sciences databases.
A search example with Limiters:
Pet therapy for stressed patients.
Brainstorming Keywords The words you type into the search box affect your search results. Not all authors use the same language to describe similar topics, so you will need to try a variety of searches.
|
Concepts |
Synonyms |
|
| "pet therapy"
|
OR |
“animal therap*" or “dog therap*” or "service animals" |
| stress | OR | "stress reduction" or "stress management" |
*Click on image below to go to the CINAHL search.*
It is a good place to start your research. Library databases provide a more efficient and effective means to access information. (Advanced Google Searching tips.)
See below how to set up Google Scholar settings to find items held by the BCIT Library when you are searching off campus.
Be aware that:
PubMed: interactive tutorial: Get the full text for an article (2 min. video) -- you can now link back to the BCIT Library resources or request for Interlibrary loan from PubMed. Look for thebutton, on the top right.
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course
Search for more BCIT ejournals here.
Journals contain collections of articles and are generally published on a regular basis (e.g. issues are released monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly etc.). They can be found via the Library databases link.
Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication. They:
There are different types of of journals. Not all journals are suitable for your assignments.
|
Types of journal articles |
||
|
Peer-reviewed |
Original research |
Original research is a primary resource. These articles often include an introduction, methods, results and discussion sections. |
|
Review articles |
Review articles are secondary resources. They provide a comprehensive summary of research on a certain topic and often have an extensive list of references. |
|
|
Not peer-reviewed |
Editorials |
In a scholarly publication, the editorial summarises the contributions in the publication, providing a balance between opinion and synthesis. |
|
Book reviews |
Book reviews are written by scholars and provide a summary of a newly published book. |
|
