Article Lookup
Databases can be discipline specific (such as MEDLINE), or multidisciplinary (such as Academic Search Complete). Many contain full text material, some only the reference and abstract.
button, next to the citation/abstract, to locate it. 
View More Health Sciences databases.
Resist the temptation to limit your initial search to full text only, unless you absolutely need the article immediately. You may miss citations for appropriate articles not found in that database but could be found through one of our other databases.
Start your research with these recommended databases:
Other recommended databases:
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. Connect Google Scholar and the BCIT Library to access research articles licensed by the Library .
Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!
If you have a Google account, go ahead and sign in. This way, you will always have your Library Link connected even when you are searching off campus.
Setting it up the Library Links: https://scholar.google.com. 
Be aware that:
. Advanced Google Searching tips
DMS Practice Guidelines provide practitioners with peer-reviewed information regarding important elements of procedures.
Guidelines are examples of the community standard of care. Guidelines are often published in specialty journals and most are also made available for free on society Web sites.
"We define open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. ..... we support the rights of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory.
Quality Control: The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included." from DOAJ - Definitions
"That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." (The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature)
They are official documents not published commercially, i.e. not found in journals. In fact, clinical practice guidelines are a type of grey literature. They may include, but are not limited to the following types of materials:
Don't let access issues stop your research...
Use thebutton, next to the citation/abstract to locate the full text of the article through BCIT subscriptions.
If the full-text of the article is not available at BCIT. you can request a copy through the BCIT Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL). interlib@bcit.ca
NOTE * If you are on the web and are asked to log in, create an account, or purchase an article. First, check if the Library has a subscription for the journal title you are seeking, if not... request an interlibrary loan for the article, which can often be emailed directly to you within 48 hours. *
**Remember, if you are looking for articles on a particular topic, it's easiest to cross-search many journals using the library's databases (listed on this page).
If you specifically want to find journals relevant to Sonography, this is the tab for you!
Journals contain collections of articles and are generally published on a regular basis (e.g. issues are released monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly etc.). They can be found via Library databases.
Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication. They:
There are different types of of journals. Not all journals are suitable for your assignments.
|
Types of journal articles |
||
|
Peer-reviewed |
Original research |
Original research is a primary resource. These articles often include an introduction, methods, results and discussion sections. |
|
Review articles |
Review articles are secondary resources. They provide a comprehensive summary of research on a certain topic and often have an extensive list of references. |
|
|
Not peer-reviewed |
Editorials |
In a scholarly publication, the editorial summarises the contributions in the publication, providing a balance between opinion and synthesis. |
|
Book reviews |
Book reviews are written by scholars and provide a summary of a newly published book. |
|
A publication in which all articles go through a peer-review process performed by subject experts before being published. You find peer reviewed articles by searching different databases. You can find a selection of databases in this guide.
P.S. When searching for peer reviewed journals from a database, select the "peer reviewed" or "peer reviewed & academic" limiters in the database you are using to ensure that only journals that have a peer reviewed policy for at least one kind of article are returned.
What is the peer-review process more exactly? Watch the video from North Carolina State University to get a clear understanding:
"Scholarly" sources are
Most (but not all) scholarly publications are peer reviewed or refereed by external reviewers.
PubMed: interactive tutorial: Get the full text for an article (2 min. video) -- you can now link back to the BCIT Library resources or request for Interlibrary loan from PubMed. Look for thebutton, on the top right.
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course
STOP If you are asked to log in, create an account, or purchase an article. It means we do not have a subscription for the journal title you are seeking. However, you can always request an interlibrary loan for the article, which can often be emailed directly to you within 48 hours.
