|
Finding books The BCIT Library has a selection of print and ebooks relating to your discipline. First Search is the BCIT Library search engine and a good place to start. It simultaneously searches the Library's book collection, many full text journal articles, reports, DVDs, and electronic resources. The asterisk is the wild card character e.g. regulat* will find regulation, regulatory, regulate... Or Search the Classic Catalog. **If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll want to search a database which is more focused on health sciences than First Search is. Here is a list of some full text databases.** |
Most books related to Occupational Health and Safety are located in the HD call number section on the 3rd floor. Additional material is found in other call number ranges. Here are some call numbers (a unique group of letters and numbers given to each item in the library according to its subject area):
|
Call # starts: |
Subject |
| HD7260-7806 |
|
| HD7260-7806 | Industrial Welfare |
| KE3365 | |
| RA1193 - RA1258 | |
| RC963 - RC969 | |
| T55 - 55.85 | |
| TA166 |
Human Engineering (Ergonomics)
|
Below are some basic subject headings that can be used in the catalogue to find occupational health & safety related books at BCIT:
Occupational and Environmental Health: recognizing and preventing disease and injury
Call Number: RC 963 O22 2018
Fundamental principles of occupational health and safety
Call Number: RC 969 H43A45 2008
Occupational health and safety for technologists, engineers, and managers
Call Number: T 55 G586 2019
Risk Assessment: tools, techniques, and their applications
Call Number: TA 169.55 R57 O88 2019
Managing the Risks of Working AloneAt the BCIT Library, most print books on Ergonomics are found under the call # TA 166. You will have to search the Library catalogue to find books that may be in other areas.
Delivering Safety Excellence: engagement culture at every level
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics
International Encyclopedia of Ergonomics and Human Factors
Occupational Ergonomics: theory and applications
The occupational ergonomics handbook
Occupational safety, health, and ergonomics. Theory and practice.
Dissertations/theses
-- UK’s doctoral research theses. Use the BCIT ILL Service to request for materials not owned by the Library. interlib@bcit.ca