LibGuides: ECET/Electrical Engineering/: Standards

IEEE Color Series/3000 Standards

IEEE is transitioning the color series to the 3000 Standards Collection for Industrial & Commercial Power Systems. The released 3000 standards are available in pdf format through IEEE Xplore. Search by the standard number (eg. IEEE 3004.1) and limit by standards.

IEEE Green Book
grounding of industrial and commercial power systems
IEEE White Book
electric systems in health care facilities
IEEE Violet Book
calculating short-circuit currents in industrial and commercial power systems
IEEE Emerald Book
powering and grounding electronic equipment
IEEE Blue Book
applying low-voltage circuit breakers used in industrial and commercial power systems
IEEE Gold Book
design of reliable industrial and commercial power systems
IEEE Brown Book
industrial and commercial power systems analysis
IEEE Yellow Book
maintenance, operation, and safety of industrial and commercial power systems
IEEE Buff Book
protection and coordination of industrial and commercial power systems
IEEE Bronze Book
energy management in industrial and commercial facilities
IEEE Red Book
electric power distribution for industrial plants
IEEE Gray Book
electric power systems in commercial buildings
IEEE Orange Book
emergency and standby power systems for industrial and commercial applications

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Includes IEEE standards.
CSA Online: Canadian Standards Association
New Platform for Canadian standards. Please logout at the end of your session.
Note: To view documents, please use the "View Online" button. To download a PDF, please follow these instructions. Printing is not possible, even from a downloaded PDF file.

CSA Communities
Free access to some additional standards. Registration required.

ASTM Compass
ASTM Book of Standards -- Research Reports -- Special technical publications -- Monographs.
British Columbia Codes This link opens in a new window
All Code publications are now available under the "Public Library" collection.

BC Building Code 2006 --BC Building Code 2012 --BC Building Code 2018 --BC Fire Code 2006 --BC Fire Code 2012 --BC Fire Code 2018 --BC Plumbing Code 2012 --BC Plumbing Code 2018 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2014 --Vancouver Building By-Law 2007.
Techstreet Enterprise
Standards including BICSI Telecommunications Distribution Methods Manual, 14th ed.
For a list of all available standards, click "View all products" on this page.

National Codes Canada - Online Library
Includes National Building Code of Canada 2015, National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2015, National Plumbing Code of Canada 2015, and National Fire Code of Canada 2015.
NFPA Codes Online
Provides NFPA (US National Fire Protection Association) codes and standards online. Includes National Electrical Codes and other electrical standards.

Check the Library Catalogue for individually purchased standards.

You can find the Canadian Electrical Code in the database CSA Online: Canadian Standards Association.

If you are off-campus, login when prompted using your BCIT credentials.

This database is tricky to use.

A sample search for entire parts of the Canadian Electrical code:

A sample of how to find parts of the Canadian Electrical code

click on my library
use left sidebar subject area
click on show more
use the down arrow icon to open dropdown menu
use the down arrow icons to open up sub-categories including Electrical Code parts
click on the part you want to view
click on the link in the result list
click on the link for the year you want to view
click view online

To view documents, use the "View Online" button. PDF download instructions. Printing is not possible.

First Search

Need help? Chat with a Librarian.