Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tech Tips

Tech tips

Online Access

Most articles, databases and ebooks are restricted to current BCIT students, faculty and staff. Enter your BCIT email and password to access.

You can reset your BCIT password at Retrieving/Resetting Lost or Forgotten BCIT Login Credentials .

If you are having trouble logging in, there may be an issue with your credentials (BCIT email and/or password). Get help.

For other problems accessing BCIT Library resources, send an email to ebrarian@bcit.ca or call the Service Desk: 604-432-8370.

Troubleshooting

If you encounter issues with access to an e-resource (article, e-book, streaming video):

Try a different browser (e.g., Firefox instead of Chrome).

Clear the browser cache.

Update the browser.

Get help.

Google Scholar

You can access BCIT Library's online articles via Google Scholar :

From the Google Scholar homepage, select the 'hamburger' menu in the top left. Select Settings.

From Settings, click on Library links.

From the Search Box, search for 'BCIT' and select 'BCIT - Find full text @ BCIT' and click save.

When you search Google Scholar, you will see a 'FIND full-test @BCIT' link next to various articles which indicates that they are available via BCIT subscribed e-content.

Note that to retain these settings, you will need to enable your browser's cookies.

 

 

Personal Privacy

Many licensed resources and web sites allow you to create a personal account to store folders, searches, and downloaded content. The information you provide may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to the personal information you provide for the use of these services. We recommend that you review the privacy policies of the site of before using the services.

Databases : specific resources

If you encounter issues with access to a database with one browser, try another.  Not everything will work in Chrome or Safari.  Where possible we have noted on our A-Z databases list if a particular browser is required.

Clearing the cache in your browser will often solve access issues.

Some databases are slower to load than others.  CSA standards is an example.  Also large documents may take a while to load depending on the quality of your Internet connection.

 

Databases requiring a specific password

Access to some of our specialized databases requires a specific and unique username/password combination, instead of your usual BCIT credentials. However, this username/password usually can’t be divulged due to license restrictions. In order to overcome this limitation, the BCIT Library uses the Onelog software. The basic steps to access those specific, Onelog-compatible databases are as follows:

 

For PC/Windows:

You will need to download and install the Onelog software on your computer/device. As part of the installation, make sure to also install the browser plugins for Chrome and or Firefox, depending on which browser(s) you use. This installation is done only once per computer.
Once the installation is completed, you'll be able to access the databases you want to search by using the link provided by the library. Onelog should automatically spring into action and fill in the username and password fields for you.

Please see the installation instructions on the "Onelog on PC" tab to get started.

 

For Mac computers:

The Onelog software is currently not compatible with most Mac computers. As an alternative, it is possible to use Onelog via BCIT's Workspace, which is a virtual environment that gives access to various software applications online. Please see the instructions on the "Onelog on Mac" tab to get started. 

 

For mobile devices:

You will need to register for the Onelog mobile service, and then download and install the Onelog mobile application. Please follow the instructions on the "Onelog on mobile devices" tab to get started. 

1) Download the Onelog software here.
 

2) Click on the downloaded file. This will launch an installer which will guide you through the next steps. 

   - If you are presented with any security-related message, choose “Run anyway”.

   - Accept the end-user license agreement (EULA) and click “Next”.

   - Accept the default installation path and click “Next”.

   - Accept the default Onelog server address and choose “Secure (https)” and click “Next”.

   - For installation on your personal computer (e.g. non-BCIT laptop), choose “Off-site” and click “Next”.

   - Check the box(es) corresponding to the browser(s) you normally use and click “Next”.

   - Check “Start Onelog client after installation” and click “Next”.

   - Click “Install”.
 

3) After the main software is installed, your browser(s) should launch and prompt you to install the Onelog browser extension(s). If it does not, visit this site in each browser to download and install the extension(s).
Note: Please do not skip this step as a browser extension is required in order to use Onelog.

 

4) When prompted to log in, type in your BCIT email prefix as username (that is, the first part of your email, without the “@my.bcit.ca” or “@bcit.ca” part) and your usual BCIT password. You should then be able to access all of our Onelog-compatible databases. Typically, the databases will present you with a login page, but the username and password will have already been filled by Onelog. You may still need to click on a "Log in" or “OK” button to confirm and enter the database.
 

If you have installed the Onelog software and its browser extension(s) and are still unable to access the databases, please see the “Troubleshooting” tab. If you are still having issues, please contact Goran_Ivaz@bcit.ca.

On Mac computers, Onelog should be accessed via BCIT’S Workspace. Here’s how to proceed:

1) Visit this page and follow the instructions under “Web browser configuration for Workspace”. This browser configuration only needs to be done once. Afterwards, you’ll be able to go directly to Workspace to access the various databases.

2) At the last step (step 7), go to “Apps”, then “Onelog” and finally “Open”. This should open a new browser tab with a “My Onelog” page.

3) Click on “Resources” and navigate to the database you would like to access.

If you’re having issues accessing Onelog on your Mac computer, please contact Goran_Ivaz@bcit.ca.

Onelog is available on iOS (iPhone, iPad), Android and Windows mobile devices. Note that before installing it, you must first register for the service. Here are the steps to follow:
 

1) Accessing the registration website. This can be done in two different ways:

   a) If you have already installed the Onelog software for PC, locate the blue Onelog icon in your computer’s system tray, at the bottom right of your screen, e.g.:

Right-click on that icon and choose “Mobile registration”. You will be taken to the registration website (see step 2 below).

   b) If you have not installed Onelog for PC, you can of course install it (see the "Onelog on PC" tab) or you can use the Onelog version that’s available on BCIT’s Workspace website. If this is your first time using Workspace, you’ll need to follow the instructions on one of these pages:

   - Configuring Workspace in Windows 10.

   - Configuring Workspace on macOS.

   - Configuring Workspace on an Android Device.

   - Configuring Workspace on an iOS Device.

Once the installation is completed, access Workspace and go to “Apps”. Look for the Onelog app and open it. Then click “Mobile” to access the registration site.


2) Registration. Once on the registration site, you can use any email address you have access to. As for the password, follow the specific instructions on the website. You will then receive an email containing a confirmation link. Ideally, view this email from your mobile device. You must click the confirmation link within 24 hours to activate your registration. If you do not click within this time, you will have to return to the registration screen and register again.


3) Installing the app. After clicking the confirmation link, you will be taken to a page with download links for the various types of devices. Click on the link corresponding to your device and install the app. Alternatively, you can also locate the app by searching for “Onelog Mobile” in your usual app store.


4) Launching the app for the first time. The first time you access the app, you will be asked to provide your email and password. The app will also ask you to create a 4-number PIN. For subsequent uses, this PIN will be asked in place of your email/password.


5) Accessing the databases. From the main screen (“My Onelog”), click “Resources”. Choose the database you want to access from the list. 
Note: Some databases are accessible via mobile but have not necessarily been optimized for mobile use. As such, results may vary in terms of actual display and usability.
 

If you’re having issues installing Onelog on your mobile device, please contact Goran_Ivaz@bcit.ca.

Note: These tips apply to the use of Onelog on PC/Windows.
 

- If you have already installed Onelog and it does not appear to be working, check the Windows system tray at the bottom right of your screen. If the Onelog icon is not present at all, open the Windows Explorer, go to C:\Program Files (x86)\ITS\Onelog\Client\ and double-click on LoginApplication.exe.

 

- If the Onelog tray icon shows a small yellow triangle instead of a green check mark, please ensure that you are using the right credentials by right-clicking the icon and choosing "Login". If the problem persists, restart your computer.

 

- Verify that the Onelog browser extension has the required permissions to interact with all the databases you visit. On chrome, in the top right corner, click on the blue Onelog icon and make sure that Onelog can "read and change data" on "all sites". In Firefox, do Ctrl-Shift-A and check the Onelog add-on for permissions.

 

- Sometimes, the Onelog icon gets a blue checkmark with a "logging in" message, but it never actually logs in. The solution: 
  - Start the Task Manager by pressing Ctrl+Shift+Esc.
  - In the "Process" tab, find "LoginApplication.exe". Right-click on it and choose "End Process"

  - Restart Onelog from the Start menu.


- If Onelog appears to be installed correctly but does not work with any of the resources, try the following:

   - Go to the Windows Start menu > Accessories > Command Prompt.

   - Type regedit and click Enter.

   - In the pane on the left, click on the arrows to navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > Wow6432Node > ITS > Onelog > Client.

   - At this point you should see the following highlighted settings. If not, change as needed.

 

If all else fails, please contact Goran_Ivaz@bcit.ca.