Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Please join us for the second meeting of the EDI Book Club!

This session will examine EDI in collection management; collection development, cataloguing, weeding. 

When: Wednesday, November 9th from 11-12pm

Where: Zoom [https://bcit.zoom.us/j/64877273007?pwd=cXRjZFRBOWJ4aUFpb01ualdpNWZSUT09]

Topic: EDI in Collection Management

Short Video

• Drawing Inclusive Collections from Exclusive Narratives / Tamar Evangelestia-Dougherty, AUL Cornell University.
  [Video: start at 2:31 to 27:09]  ACRL. Cultures of Collecting: Sustaining Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Collection Development.
  https://youtu.be/641k-uyndHA?t=151

Guiding/Reflection Questions

• How can we get past the once-a-year event, to authentic engagement?

• Can collections increase a sense of belonging in the Library?

Supplementary Topic - Weeding

• Equity Informed Weeding. Canadian School Libraries, Collection Diversity Toolkit
  https://www.canadianschoollibraries.ca/collection-diversity-toolkit/equity-informed-weeding/ 

• Weeding: For Equity, Accessibility, & Relevancy. Kelsey Bogan (Aug 2022)
  Don't Shush Me! Adventures of a 21st century High School Librarian
  https://dontyoushushme.com/2022/08/10/weeding-for-equity-accessibility-relevancy-pt-1/

• Sustainable Weeding in Libraries | 2022 CPGE Online Student Conference / Recycling, upCycling [Video 6:40m]
  https://youtu.be/AG3xrA3aAII 

Supplementary Materials/Resources

• Sample DEI Language Used in Collection Development Policies - CARLI
• Remediation of Harmful Language in Library Metadata - University of Michigan Library
• Collection Development section (p. 105-110) in the Community-Led Libraries Toolkit
• Indigenous Bookseller : Massy Books in Vancouver is a great resource!
• Indigenous Librarianship - Collection Management Subject Guide
• Sharing Knowledge and Smashing Stereotypes: Representing Native American, First Nation, and Indigenous Realities in Library Collections - Collection Management Journal Special Edition
• Equity-Informed Selection - Canadian School Libraries
• Black Bears & Blueberries Cataloging Pilot: A Collaborative NACO Project - Hennepin County Libraries [Presentation begins at 21:36]: https://umn.zoom.us/rec/play/Pc__k0puksuwkkdGK9FKxRk_xZJTU7Pg6nE7kqB7ZWZMzaSSvX5cBQs7oBFKZGOkQT_Gx_9-EI73E3x5.m2a7ZbD3lHiev5p1?autoplay=true&startTime=1652301284000