LibGuides: Environmental Engineering: Getting Started

Reference Chat

Need help? Chat with a Librarian.

Featured Resources

UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.
Link to the U.N. climate change report, "Code Red for Humanity".Aug 2021.

Microbiological sensors for the drinking water industry [Electronic Book] by Tapio S. Katko (Editor); Bo Højris (Editor)
Lifelong Learning for Engineers and Scientists in the Information Age [electronic resource] by Ashok Naimpally; Hema Ramachandran; Caroline Smith
Using the Engineering Literature [electronic resource] by Bonnie A. Osif (Editor)
Marketing renewable energy : concepts, business models and cases
Call Number: HD 9502 A2 M37 2017
Sustainable Design: the Science of Sustainability & Green Engineering (electronic book) by Daniel Vallero, Chris Brasier
Publication Date: 2008
Theory and Practice of Sustainable Engineering by Braden R. Allenby
Call Number: TA 170 A45 2012
Water Centric Sustainable Communities by Vladimir Novotny; John Ahearn; Paul Brown; Jack Ahern
Call Number: TD 346 N68 2010
Why Materials Matter
Call Number: NK 1520 S65 2018
Writing for Science and Engineering [Electronic Book] by Heather Silyn-Roberts
Engineering for sustainability

First Search

Use the box below to find books, journals, reports, dvds, & electronic resources.

The asterisk is the wild card character e.g. electric* will find electric, electrician, electrical, electricity...

Use the Advanced Search page to limit for specific formats e.g. Change Material Type to either DVDs or Videorecordings or eBooks

Top Resources

The following electronic resources offer access to articles, books, and other information related to the study of environmental engineering To access these resources from off-campus you will need to login with your myBCIT or network login.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
ASCE Journals
Journals covering subject areas that include construction, engineering mechanics , environment and water resources, geotechnical engineering, structural engineering, transportation and urban development, and utility engineering and surveying.
ASME Digital Library
From The American Society of Mechanical Engineers this collection houses the most current and relevant content in mechanical engineering and related engineering fields, such as medical device research, energy resources, and nuclear engineering. It includes 28 journals, 185 eBooks and hundreds of conference proceedings.
BuildingGreen
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
CCOHS : Canada's National Occupational Health & Safety Resource
Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, RTECS, and OSH References. Access to Standards is not included.
CCOHS : Canadian EnviroOSH Legislation This link opens in a new window
Access to Standards is not included. Health and safety acts and regulations, codes of practice and guidelines for Canadian federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings on engineering topics. Links out to full-text. Also known as Engineering Village.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on energy, renewable resources, ecosystem, geography, pollution, waste management, environmental law and urban planning. Sponsored by BC Hydro.
Google Scholar
This is a freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. FIND full-text@BCIT indicates articles available via BCIT databases.
Health & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
900+ full text Science Direct journals from current year back to 1995.
Sage STM (Science, Technology and Medicine)
The Science, Technology, and Medicine (STM) Packages provide access to 480+ journals, including leading international peer-reviewed titles.

CSA Standards

CSA Online: Canadian Standards Association

How to download the CSA standards (except the Electrical Code)

Your Librarian

Ian Linkletter

(he/him)

Email Me

Subjects: Engineering, Environment, Health, Learning + Teaching, Open Education