Human Resources

Business Source Complete - article database

The workhorse of business databases - American based but lots of Canadian content. Find trade and scholarly articles, SWOT, industry and company info, NAICS & SIC codes.

Search Tips: 
  Full Text  and    Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals ,and use Cite button

Exercise:

• Find Company Profiles. Some SWOT Analysis. Note NAICS codes.
• Search for Assignment Terms in Thesaurus. 
• Broaden or Narrow Search by terms (Onboarding) and Canada (Geographic Term)
• Search by Company Entity with Thesaurus Terms
• Search for 'recruitment' in the su field and the company name in the co field.

CBCA Business (1972-) Canadian business journals. Full-text content.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Business™ provides access to Canadian business periodicals. Over 230 full-text trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications make up the collection, with file depth back to the early 1970s including Canadian Business, The Economist, Financial Post Magazine, Canadian Business Economics, Journal of Management and Sustainability.

Search Tips: 
  Full text  and/or    Peer reviewed and/or     Scholarly journals

Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies  Canadian Newspapers : Full-text content.
Vancouver Sun, The Province plus 25 other Canadian newspapers National Post, Canadian Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, and Vicoria Times-Colonist. Coverage: 1985 - current.

Business in Vancouver BCIT Library has a 1-user subscription .
Business in Vancouver provides local business news and information that is relevant, current and actionable. Access to lists and data, all articles, all videos and any other content that is posted to BIV.com. Unlimited access to BIV list data. Digital replica editions.

To access the Business in Vancouver Subscription go to BCIT Library website :   

1. Type 'Business in Vancouver' into the BCIT Library Catalogue Quick Search box.
2. Click on -> Access issues online.
3. You will be taken to the BIV website home page.
4. Click on the Login link at the top right corner of the website page
5. Sign In : To fill in the log-in form, click the green arrow icon an the top right menu bar.
   
6. Please logout when you are finished.

Other database to try depending on industry or topic chosen :

Academic Search Complete - Scholarly articles from wide range of subjects. full-text database
PsycINFO – Articles about behavioural database,
Hospitality & Tourism – Articles on leisure & business travel, hotel management, and travel industry database.
 

Conference Board of Canada -  Canadian Business Data & Reports – Premium Content
The foremost independent, evidence-based, not-for-profit applied research organization in Canada. Research reports on Economic Performance, Trends & Data, Organizational Performance, Public Policy, Energy, Health, Technology & Innovation. Company Info.

Job Bank : Job Market Trends and News for BC. Government of Canada : JobBank Canada. Job Market Trends for British Columbia. http://www.jobbank.gc.ca/

Earnings and employment trends by BC Stats. Ministry of Finance and Corporate Relations : Explore careers. http://www.bcstats.gov.bc.ca/

Labour Source Essential Edition  – Premium Content Labour Arbitration Cases, Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries, Labour and Employment Legistation, Brown & Beatty. 

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. Business papers should use APA Style to format citations.

BCIT Library maintains quick reference citation style guidelines here.

Why Use APA?

APA Style makes it easier for readers to understand a text by providing a familiar structure they can follow. Abiding by APA's standards as a writer will allow you to:

• Provide readers with cues they can use to follow your ideas more efficiently and to locate information of interest to them
• Allow readers to focus more on your ideas by not distracting them with unfamiliar formatting
• Establish your credibility or ethos in the field by demonstrating an awareness of your audience and their needs as fellow researchers

Because sources on the web or in social media can be created by anyone, they should always be evaluated for their credibility and authority. A popular benchmark is the AAOCC (Authority, Accuracy, Objectivity, Currency, and Coverage) criteria for evaluating resources:

Authority : Who is the author? 

• Always ask yourself whether the organization sponsoring a particular site is a well known, reliable, and suitable site for the document—a research center, for example, a college or university, or a government office?

Accuracy : How accurate is the source?

• Data and information must be based on observations, measurements, analyses, interpretations and conclusions. All information should be verifiable

Objectivity : How objective is the source?

• Is there a strong point of view or bias? Is there a lot of advertising? Does the language used on this site suggest a specific ideology or social or political agenda? Do they include opposing views?

Currency: What is the site's currency?

• Is the information up-to-date or are the resources outdated? Have they kept up with trends and technology?

Coverage: Does it adequately cover the topic?

• Does the information source leave questions unanswered (ask the "five W's and H" to check: who, what, when, where, why and how)? Consider comparing one source's coverage to another source.

PMB : Print Measurement Bureau - Canada
PMB survey includes information on Canadians’ usage of over 3,500 products and services; demographics, consumer data, product channels, usage and consumer lifestyles.

SimplyMap - Canada Census and Lifestyle Segments, Businesses
Database Geomapping application using data for Canada.  Using NAICS and SIC codes. Includes Businesses (virtually all businesses covered by Dun and Bradstreet)

Market Share Reporter  - World Wide
Provides market share information and reports reproduced from various business, financial and trade journals. Search for product types, brands, or by NAICS and SIC codes.

Passport GMID : Euromonitor  - Global Business Research
A global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers.

Government Statistical Resources:

• Statistics Canada - Statistics Canada "collects, compiles, analyse, abstract and publish statistical information relating to the commercial, industrial, financial, social, economic and general activities and conditions of the people of Canada. Trends in population. Seniors, Centenarians in Canada.
• BC Stats - BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.

Public Company Information. Corporate Filings including 10Q, 10K, MD&A, Annual Report, News.
Publicly traded companies are required to submit corporate filings such as annual reports, proxy circulars, prospectuses etc. with the securities regulatory authority.

SEDAR Canadian Securities Regulatory Authorities.
 The official site providing access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA). The SEDAR collection includes reports from 1997 or later.
Public Website: [ http://www.sedar.com/ ]

EDGAR US Securities Commission. Mid-1990s-present  Publicly traded US and Non-US companies
The 'SEC's EDGAR provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. 
Public Website: [ https://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml ]

Exercise:  Search for a Public Company.
Read some of the recent documents filed with the regulating agency.
Business and Management Discussion & Analysis MD&A documents are strategic documents.
Is there any information that is useful to your project?

Private Company Information

Since private companies in Canada and the US are not obligated to make public their financial data, finding reliable sources of this information can be difficult or impossible. Sometimes the best you can do is to piece together an estimate based on market share, industry type, and other information found in these databases.

Make notes as you do your research. Write down what worked and what didn't work.

What terms or key words did you use?

What were the best sites or resources you found and why? Overall, what types of resources did you cover, and what were some of the key results from each type of resource?

Summarize your findings.