Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top Research Resources
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
ASME Digital Library
From The American Society of Mechanical Engineers this collection houses the most current and relevant content in mechanical engineering and related engineering fields, such as medical device research, energy resources, and nuclear engineering. It includes 28 journals, 185 eBooks and hundreds of conference proceedings.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings on engineering topics. Links out to full-text. Also known as Engineering Village.
Main menu for EBSCO databases. Allows multiple database searching.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
IMPORTANT Privacy notice:
During your first login, you will be asked to register. Please note that the minimum required to do so is acceptance of terms and conditions.
No other personal information is required.
Please note that some browsers may require a private session to connect successfully.
Following in the tradition of Lynda.com LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform that features instructive videos on a wide variety of subjects, including business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.
Privacy protection information:
When you login to LinkedIn Learning you will be presented with an option to link your existing LinkedIn account (if you have one) to your new LinkedIn Learning account. This is not required, and is in fact not recommended by the Library because of privacy issues.
If you decide to link your LinkedIn account please be aware that your first name, last name and email address will be sent to LinkedIn Learning servers in the United States.
If in doubt, please do not link your LinkedIn account to your new LinkedIn Learning account - you can always do that later.
Off Campus Access
You can access e-books, e-journals and databases from home if you are a current student, faculty or staff member.
If you are presented with a login screen use the same BCIT email and Password as when you login to the computers on campus.
There is more information on How to login (students) if you're having trouble.
You can also contact the Service Desk by email if you need to establish your current eligibility status.
For other off-campus access problems contact the Research Help Desk.
The BCIT Library acknowledges the unceded territories of the Coast Salish Nations of xwməθkwəy̓əm (Musquem), səl̓ilwətaɁɬ (Tsleil-Waututh), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), on which our BCIT main campuses are located.