LibGuides: Motive Power: Annacis Island Campus: Books & more

Request book delivery to Annacis Island Campus

To request items from another campus Library, click 'request' in the item record.

Select Annacis Island Campus for Pickup Location.

Click 'submit'.

Library Services

Book a Study Room
Rooms are available at
- Burnaby Campus
- Downtown Campus
- Marine Campus
- Richmond ATC
iPads and Laptops for Loan
Interlibrary Loan Request
If BCIT Library doesn’t own the book or journal article that you need, we will borrow it from another library. This service is available at no charge for BCIT students and employees.

Off Campus Access

BCIT Catalogue Login

You can access e-books, e-journals and databases from home.

If you are a current student, faculty or staff member you can login using your MyBCIT or network login. Check our help sheet for tips.

You can also contact the Service Desk at 604-432-8370 or by email.

Books

Browse the Collection

Use the box below to search the BCIT Library catalogue and find books, journals, reports, dvds, and other electronic resources related to your topic. Keyword searches are generally the most effective way to find materials in the Library

The asterisk is a wild card character (e.g. electric* will find electric, electrician, electrical, electricity...)

Use the Advanced Search page to limit for specific formats e.g. Change Material Type to either DVDs or Videorecordings or eBooks.

Subject searches can also be helpful. Here are some subject headings to get you started:

Research databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on energy, renewable resources, ecosystem, geography, pollution, waste management, environmental law and urban planning. Sponsored by BC Hydro.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
An Ebsco database featuring full-text articles on all branches of the military and government.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Key publications include The Economist, New Statesman, Billboard, Variety, Macleans, Atlantic Monthly, Wall Street Journal, Nature, and many more. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all in one place.
Safetyhub
SafetyCare streamed video covering a wide selection of topics.

Open Educational Resources in Trades

As noted in the webinar below, the OER community is "late to the party" regarding resources for Vocational Education and Trades.

However, there are still excellent resources available, with many more to come as this corner of Open continues to develop:

BCcampus hosts a wide selection of Common Core open textbooks.

The Electric Academy, a Youtube channel hosted by Chad Flinn, provides Open videos on electrical theory.

Circuitry textbooks from LibreTexts

SkillsCommons, a digital library of open workforce training materials. Search or browse by industry, material type (for example syllabi or graphics/illustrations), and more.
- Highlights:

Motive Power: Annacis Island Campus: Books & more