Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The North American Industry Classification System Number will help with searching in many of the library databases geared towards business.
Creating a Business Table in Simply Map
Note: Simply Analytics can only have 5 simultaneous users. If it's busy, try again later.
- Sign in as guest
- X tour
- Input a location
- Uncheck seed variables
- Select Create Project
- Select Create Business Table
- Select Businesses from left panel
- Use Advanced Search
- Use Dropdown to select NAICS code
- Add Conditions if you want to limit by # of employees or sales volume
- (Don't leave a blank condition line though)
- Select Done (from beside Edit Businesses near top of screen)
- Use left panel to change location or industry
- Can only have one location and one industry in a table
- Export (upper right of screen)
To access these resources from off-campus you will need to be logged in to BCIT with your BCIT email and password.
Search this database by NAICS code or keyword to find comprehensive, current Canadian, American and Global reports on industries. Information includes key statistics, industry SWOTS, major companies and more.
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 18000 sources on over 60000 topics.
SimplyAnalytics (SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Find competitor and customer information and create tables of businesses in specific industries and locations.
Business Source Complete
Find background information on businesses and industries. Includes articles and reports. Search by NAICS code, company name or keyword.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find background information on industries and companies. Includes reports and articles. Search by keyword. Choose Business Market Research Collection database to search by NAICS.
Business Plans Handbook
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.
Off Campus Access
If you are presented with the Login screen use the Current students, faculty and staff login.
Use the same BCIT ID# (e.g. A00...) and Password as when you login to the computers on campus.
There is more information on How to login (students) if you're having trouble.
You can also contact the Service Desk at 604-432-8370 or by email if you need to establish your current eligibility status.
For other off-campus access problems contact the Research Help Desk at (604) 432-8371.
The Writing Centre
Free one-to-one writing support services to BCIT students from our writing peer tutors.
Free online writing tutoring - submit a draft of your work and receive feedback and suggestions from a peer writing tutor.