COMM2213 - Radio - Broadcast - LibGuides at BCIT

BCIT Library Search

First Search
Use the search box on the library homepage to search for books, ebooks and more.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)
Full text and indexed content from all four subsets: Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference. The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources and includes full-text articles and records from 1933 to current.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
JSTOR
Includes 2,800+ academic journals spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa and World Heritage Sites: Africa.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

APA 7 Reference Examples
by Deirdre Grace Last Updated Aug 29, 2023 1278 views this year

Flickr: The Commons
Cultural institutions that have reasonably concluded that a photograph is free of copyright restrictions share under "no known copyright restrictions."
Openverse
Stock photos, images, and audio, available for free use.
Pexels
Photos on Pexels can be used for free - most photos are released under the Pexels license and some are covered by a CC0 license.
Pixabay
Pixabay operates under its own license.
Unsplash
Unsplash operates under its own license.
WIkimedia Commons
CC licenses specified on image description page
WorldImages
California State University Project - images under CC license
Google Image Search
Do a search, click on Tools, then use the dropdown menu under Usage Rights to limit to Creative Commons licenses.

Alhazeera Creative Commons Repository
Critical Commons
Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.
Internet Archive
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
TED
TED videos are licensed CC BY-NC-ND (attribution, non-commercial, non-derivative)
videolectures.net
educational video lectures repository - videos licensed CC BY-NC-ND (attribution, non-commercial, non-derivative)
Vimeo
do a search, on the left sidebar click on more filters, scroll down to license and choose a CC option
YouTube
do a search, click on filters, under features choose Creative Commons

Use the SIFT Method to investigate the source, trace back one quote or claim or find another source for a claim.

Try the CRAAP Method to see how it fares against the checklist.

Would you use this source for a post-secondary assignment?

Mike Caulfield, research scientist at the University of Washington, developped the SIFT method. Check out his blog for more info on SIFT

Things to consider when evaluating information:

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.

Authority: The source of the information.

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.

Purpose: The reason the information exists.

Email Me

Contact:

t. 604-451-6961

e. dgrace@bcit.ca

Subjects: Broadcast + Media, Business, Marketing