LibGuides: Electroneurophysiology: Epilepsy

Clinical Definition of Epilepsy

Epilepsy is a disease of the brain defined by any of the following conditions:

At least two unprovoked seizures occurring greater than 24 hours apart
One unprovoked seizure and a probability of further seizures similar to the general recurrence risk (at least 60%) after two unprovoked seizures, occurring over the next 10 years
Diagnosis of an epilepsy syndrome

Epilepsy is considered to be resolved for individuals who had an age-dependent epilepsy syndrome but are now past the applicable age or those who have remained seizure-free for the last 10 years, with no seizure medicines for the last 5 years.

Definition found at Epilepsy Foundation Website - This website is the official website for the Epilepsy Foundation. It provides a lot of background information on what epilepsy is, who is affected by it, and many other statistics and information on the disease

Understanding Seizures and Epilepsy

What is the Neuroscience Behind Epilepsy?

Basic Description of Neuroscience Here you will find a basic description of what neuroscience is, a solid definition, and in depth description of the different branches that it encompasses. This resource is a short introduction and does not contain much more detail than differentiating between neuroscience, neurobiology, and other disciplines involving the nervous system.
Neurobiology of Epilepsy The neurobiology of epilepsy is an article that was written in 2007. It is a very detailed and in depth scientific paper, so do not spend too much time reading every single word and just focus on the big picture ideas. This includes a brief history of epilepsy, some thoughts on what causes it, a description of nerve cells and their electrical properties, and the mechanisms of how epilepsy is thought to occur.
Neuroscience News Neuroscience news is a very informative website that provides up to date information on topics involving neuroscience. This link will take you to the archives section and has lists of articles dealing with current (and not so current) issues involving the neuroscience behind epilepsy. This website deals with neuroscience topics well beyond epilepsy; so feel free to explore as much as you would like!
Molecular Mechanisms of Epilepsy An in depth look at the molecular mechanisms of epilepsy. This source is very detailed and very scientific, so once again do not get bogged down in the details if you do not have that much of a neuroscience or biology background. It is from 2015 so it is very recent, and it gives a comprehensive look at excitation/inhibition within a circuit and how this process goes awry in epileptic patients.
Basic Mechanisms Underlying Seizures and Epilepsy Another link providing a lot of information on epilepsy and electrophysiological changes of the brains of affected individuals. This article gives much more background information on the nervous system and how neurons, synapses, and circuits work. It would be useful to use this resource as a back-up of sorts, where you can come back to this article for a description of a concept or for a definition if you come across something that is causing you to struggle in another article/paper/resource.
Article describing the neuron and synapses In case the videos on the right were not enough to quench your desire to learn about neurons, or if you simply learn more by reading rather than watching videos then this link is for you. It is through Khan Academy and provides basic information on what a synapse is and how it works. This article puts complex ideas into simple and understandable language - it is very worth your while if you are struggling to understand important neuroscience topics like structure of a neuron, function of a synapse, or the role of neurotransmitters in neuronal communication.
Neuroscience for Kids This link will take you to a website called "Neuroscience for Kids", and although it may be for kids it provides information on topics like epilepsy in a very simplified and easy to understand manner... just in case these last resources did not get the job done or you are seeking more information.

What is Being Done to Treat Epilepsy?

Cochrane - Epilepsy
Epilepsy Conditions and Treatments
This hospital's website gives an in depth look at a fairly new epilepsy treatment: vagus nerve stimulation. It provides general information on epilepsy and basic treatment options.
General Epilepsy Treatment Description
The Mayo Clinic's website describes the basic treatment options for an individual with epilepsy -- such as, surgery, medications, diet and lifestyle changes, and also newer, cutting edge treatments like nerve or deep brain stimulation.
HealthLink BC - Epilepsy
MedlinePlus - Epilepsy, treatment
Treating Seizures and Epilepsy
The Epilepsy Foundation's web page showcases what is currently being done to treat epilepsy. This includes: pharmaceutical medicines, surgery, dietary therapies, and more.
WHO - Epilepsy

BCIT Library

Click here to find more BCIT Library books on epilepsy.

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: a Hmong child, her American doctors, and the collison of two cultures
Call Number: RA 418.5 T73F33 2012
Epilepsy and the culture conflict that obstructs the treatment of a refugee child from Laos
Wyllie's Treatment of Epilepsy
Call Number: RC 372 T68 2021
Atlas of EEG, Seizure Semiology, and Management
Call Number: RC 386.6 E43 M56 2022
Patient H. M.: a story of memory, madness and family secrets
Call Number: RC 394 A5 D58 2016
Epilepsy and Intensive Care Monitoring
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2010