LibGuides: Civil Engineering: Getting Started

Reference Chat

Need help? Chat with a Librarian.

Key Sites

Citation

Finding Citations in First Search

Purdue OWL

Drones

Interested in Drones? Visit the the RPAS Hub: Drone Education, Training and Research at BCIT where you will find information about working with RPAS technology at BCIT.

First Search

Use the box below to find books, journals, reports, dvds, & electronic resources.

The asterisk is the wild card character e.g. electric* will find electric, electrician, electrical, electricity...

Use the Advanced Search page to limit for specific formats e.g. Change Material Type to either DVDs or Videorecordings or eBooks

Key Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Key publications include The Economist, New Statesman, Billboard, Variety, Macleans, Atlantic Monthly, Wall Street Journal, Nature, and many more. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all in one place.
EngNetBase
Access to the handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering.
During your first login, please specify region, decline marketing communication and agree to the terms and conditions before continuing. No personally-identifiable data will be passed on to content provider.
Taylor & Francis eBooks (includes CRCnetBASE collections) This link opens in a new window
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings on engineering topics. Links out to full-text. Also known as Engineering Village.
ASCE Journals
Journals covering subject areas that include construction, engineering mechanics , environment and water resources, geotechnical engineering, structural engineering, transportation and urban development, and utility engineering and surveying.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE journal articles, conference proceedings and standards.
On the search results page select SHOW my subscribed content.
BuildingGreen
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on energy, renewable resources, ecosystem, geography, pollution, waste management, environmental law and urban planning. Sponsored by BC Hydro.
Material ConneXion
Information on over 7,000 of today's most innovative materials.
Note: Clicking the "Sign up" button allows you to create an account, but that is not required to access the database. Creating an account lets you save materials to a personal board in the Workspace section of the site, and then share that board with others, export it, etc.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Ebook Central
E-books on various subjects, including engineering, technology, health, business, aviation and architecture. The maximum loan period is 4 days.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.

Required Books

These books are required in various Civil Engineering courses and indexed here for your convenience. They are located at the Burnaby Campus Library, though check your title first to see if it is checked out.

Your Librarian

Ian Linkletter

(he/him)

Email Me

Subjects: Engineering, Environment, Health, Learning + Teaching, Open Education

Off Campus Access

You can access e-books, e-journals and almost all BCIT databases from home.

If you are a current student, faculty, or staff member you can login using your BCIT credentials. Find out how at the Logging in to BCIT page.

Training Videos (Streaming)

Technical Education Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes materials for automotive technology, building and technical trades, engineering technology and technical communication.
Safetyhub
SafetyCare streamed video covering a wide selection of topics.