Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help? Chat with a Librarian.
Use the box below to find books, journals, reports, dvds, & electronic resources.
The asterisk is the wild card character e.g. electric* will find electric, electrician, electrical, electricity...
Use the Advanced Search page to limit for specific formats e.g. Change Material Type to either DVDs or Videorecordings or eBooks
Applied Science & Technology Source
Extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Full-text for 1200 + journals.
Access to the handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering.
During your first login, please specify region, decline marketing communication and agree to the terms and conditions before continuing. No personally-identifiable data will be passed on to content provider.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings on engineering topics. Links out to full-text. Also known as Engineering Village.
Journals covering subject areas that include construction, engineering mechanics , environment and water resources, geotechnical engineering, structural engineering, transportation and urban development, and utility engineering and surveying.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE journal articles, conference proceedings and standards.
On the search results page select SHOW my subscribed content.
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on energy, renewable resources, ecosystem, geography, pollution, waste management, environmental law and urban planning. Sponsored by BC Hydro.
Information on over 7,000 of today's most innovative materials. Tip: click on "Materials Database" tab.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
IMPORTANT Privacy notice:
During your first login, you will be asked to register. Please note that the minimum required to do so is acceptance of terms and conditions.
No other personal information is required.
E-books on various subjects, including engineering, technology, health, business, aviation and architecture. The maximum loan period is 4 days.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering a wide range of subjects from science and technology to current events.
These books are required in various Civil Engineering courses and indexed here for your convenience. They are located at the Burnaby Campus Library, though check your title first to see if it is checked out.
Off Campus Access
You can access e-books, e-journals and almost all BCIT databases from home.
If you are a current student, faculty, or staff member you can login using your BCIT credentials. Find out how at the Logging in to BCIT page.
Training Videos (Streaming)
Technical Education Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes materials for automotive technology, building and technical trades, engineering technology and technical communication.
Please note that some browsers may require a private session to connect successfully.
Following in the tradition of Lynda.com LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform that features instructive videos on a wide variety of subjects, including business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.
Privacy protection information:
When you login to LinkedIn Learning you will be presented with an option to link your existing LinkedIn account (if you have one) to your new LinkedIn Learning account. This is not required, and is in fact not recommended by the Library because of privacy issues.
If you decide to link your LinkedIn account please be aware that your first name, last name and email address will be sent to LinkedIn Learning servers in the United States.
If in doubt, please do not link your LinkedIn account to your new LinkedIn Learning account - you can always do that later.
SafetyCare streamed video covering a wide selection of topics.