Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Women's Day

Monday, March 8, 2021 (on Zoom)

 

Two sessions: 8:30-10:00am and 11:00am-12:30pm

 

Join the BCIT Learning & Teaching Centre and the BCIT Library for our second International Women’s Day celebration!

International Women’s Day (IWD) is celebrated to recognize the achievements of women and bring attention to gender parity and women’s rights.

BCIT’s 2021 IWD celebration will feature two Zoom events.

The first of these events will convene a panel of women from around the world to discuss issues affecting women and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on women’s lives. This panel will take place on Zoom on March 8, 2021, 8:30 a.m.–10:00 a.m. PST (16:30–18:00 GMT).

8:30 a.m.–10:00 a.m. PST (16:30–18:00 GMT)

Moderator: Wafaa Barakat

Musical performance 8:30 – 9:00 am, Jillian Lebeck

International Panel: 9:00 am – 10:00am

Panel Discussion: Issues Affecting Women and the Impact of COVID-19 on Women’s Lives, with Q&A.

Eva Das Dores Pascoal, Angola

Güssün Güneş, Turkey

Latifa Bouanzi, France

Ana Barroso Abecasis, Portugal

Joana Filipa Machado de Morais Afonso, Angola

Fatima de Sousa, Brazil

Book Draw

X

The second IWD event, will take place at 11:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m. PST (19:00–20:30 GMT). This panel will showcase women authors at BCIT.

11:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m. PST (19:00–20:30 GMT)

Moderator: Wafaa Barakat

Musical performance 11:00 am – 11;30 am: Jillian Lebeck

Panel: Women Authors at (or were at) BCIT

Kate Braid, Victoria

Tessa Jordan, Vancouver

Geraldine Eliot, Vancouver

Readings

Q&A

Book Draw