LibGuides: Marine Engineering / Nautical Sciences: Journal Articles, Databases, Magazines

Can't Find an Article?

Can't find a particular article in the library?

Place an interlibrary loan request and we'll help you find it!

Top Databases

Regs4Ships
A searchable database that combines Flag State compliance documentation with codes: IMO, ILO, MARPOL, IMDG, SOLAS, STCW and EU legislation. Digital Maritime Regulations are available for 22 Flag States.
IMO Vega on the Web This link opens in a new window
Contains updated and consolidated IMO documents, other codes and conventions, SOLAS & MARPOL documents and selected e-books.
Click Login button. Click View My Purchases / Trials.
Mitchell ProDemand This link opens in a new window
Automotive repair information, vehicle maintenance, automotive diagnostic data, and labor estimating data.
Access is available only at the Burnaby campus.

Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers. To install Onelog on your personal device(s), see this guide.
Mitchell Truck ProDemand This link opens in a new window
Complete service information for class 4-8 trucks.
Access is available only at the Burnaby and Annacis Island campuses.

Note: This database can only be accessed via the Onelog software that is installed in the Chrome browser on BCIT computers. To install Onelog on your personal device(s), see this guide.

The Marine Professional
Library has premium content subscription.
Splash
Splash offers timely, informed and global news from the maritime industry 24/7.
The Maritime Executive - Digital Editions
Published six times a year, each issue contains a comprehensive Case Study and Executive Interview along with in-depth analyses of key industry issues and trends.
Seatrade Maritime News
Seatrade Maritime News offers shipping news in the maritime industry focusing on trends in shipping with correspondents in Asia, the Middle East, Europe and America, Seatrade Maritime News focuses on maritime operational, maritime regulatory and maritime technology.
Safety4Sea
SAFETY4SEA is a site containing the latest safety, smart and green shipping news.

These journals can be found in the BMC Library...

The Marine Professional

MT (Marine Technology)

Pacific Maritime Magazine

Pacific Yachting

Popular Mechanics

Popular Science

Port of Halifax Magazine

These journals can be found online…

Canadian Naval Review

Canadian Sailings

CHIRP Feedback. Maritime

Drydock

ITF Seafarers' Bulletin

Journal of Waterway, Port, Coastal and Ocean Engineering

Navigation: Journal of the Institute of Navigation

Popular Mechanics

Popular Science

Port Engineering Management

Sea Technology (Full text available from Applied Science & Technology Source: 04/01/2003 to present)

TransNav International Journal of Marine Navigation and Safety of Sea Transportation

Yachting

The Economist

The Maritime Executive - Digital Editions
Published six times a year, each issue contains a comprehensive Case Study and Executive Interview along with in-depth analyses of key industry issues and trends.
Journal of Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering.
12/01/2012 to Present in Academic Search Complete
Journal of International Maritime Safety, Environment Affairs and Shipping
01/01/2020 to Present in Publicly Available Content Database

Seatrade Maritime Podcast
On the go and on demand, our podcast delivers commentary, opinions and conversations on shipping's most important topics.
Women Offshore podcast
Career advancement and experiences describing "what it is like to sail as a captain or be a mom" in the shipping industry.