Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marine Engineering / Nautical Sciences: Laws and Regulations

Law Resources

Need Help?

Contact Us

Please feel free to contact the BMC Library staff if you have any questions or if you would like any assistance.
Email Joanna Erickson, Library Coordinator or Elizabeth Padilla, Librarian.

After hours, visit the Ask a Librarian or Contact Us page for additional information.  Or visit our FAQ or Tips and Tutorials pages.

Peer Tutoring, Writing Help, Study Skills

The Learning Commons at BCIT Library offers student services to help students succeed. FREE Peer tutoring is being offered online through the Learning Hub as well as in person. Please see the current blended schedule.

In the BCIT Learning Hub under MY COURSES > ALL to locate BCIT Peer Tutoring

Consult this guide for how to access online peer tutoring: Detailed Instructions pdf

*Note that the Learning Commons does not offer tutoring in all programs all the time. But, in some cases, a tutor in a different area would be able to help you. 

For more information, consult the Learning Commons Peer Tutoring home page: https://www.bcit.ca/learning-commons/peer-tutoring/ or contact via email learningcommons@bcit.ca

 

Chat with a Librarian

Chat loading...

Top Maritime Law and Regulation Resources

Regs4Ships (Library Resource)
A searchable database that combines Flag State compliance documentation with codes: IMO, ILO, MARPOL, IMDG, SOLAS, STCW and EU legislation. Digital Maritime Regulations are available for 22 Flag States.

IMO Vega on the Web  (Library Resource)
Contains updated and consolidated IMO documents, other codes and conventions, SOLAS & MARPOL documents and selected e-books.
Click Login button. Click View My Purchases / Trials.

Canada Shipping Act, 2001 (S.C. 2001, c. 26) and Regulations

Marine Safety Publications​ from Transport Canada

Commercial Shipping Acts & Conventions - Wheel of Maritime Law  (Interactive free reference)
The Wheel of Maritime Law provides an overview of the national acts and international conventions, protocols and codes related to commercial marine shipping in Canada. Use the wheel to discover:
- International maritime law.
- Maritime law in Canada.
- Maritime law governance.

Canadian Resources

BC Laws

Provides free public access to the current laws of British Columbia.

British Columbia Labour Relations Board

Includes access to the Code, Collective Agreements and Decisions.

British Columbia. Legislative Assembly

Full text versions of all the session papers of the Legislature of the Province of British Columbia : bills, votes and proceedings, Hansard, and committee proceedings.

The Courts of British Columbia

Search judgments of the BC Court of Appeal and BC Supreme Court that are available through this website.

Clicklaw

Aimed at enhancing access to justice in British Columbia, Clicklaw features legal information and education designed for the public from 24 contributor organizations.

Courthouse Libraries of BC

Provides legal information services to the legal community and the public of BC.

Legal Services Society : British Columbia

OHS regulation & related materials

WorkSafeBC occupational health & safety regulation and related materials.

West Coast Environmental Law

Established in 1974 to work with communities, non-governmental organizations, the private sector and all levels of governments, including First Nations governments, to develop proactive legal solutions to protect and sustain the environment.

 

Guide to Coastal and Ocean Protection Law in British Columbia

Stephanie Hewson, Linda Nowlan, Georgia Lloyd-Smith, Deborah Carlson & Michael Bissonnette.
West Coast Environmental Law Research Foundatio
n. (2020)

A comprehensive resource that covers the wide array of legal tools available to Indigenous, federal, provincial and local governments to protect the coast and ocean in BC. In addition to being a resource on marine spatial protection law, this Guide is a record of what has been accomplished on the Pacific coast over the last several decades – providing examples that demonstrate how different legal tools have been employed to preserve the health of coastal and marine ecosystems.

 

Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research

Developed with the support of the UBC Faculty of Law, this site provides effective legal research strategies and techniques.

Canadian Legal Information Sources

"Developed by a group of people who have served as "expert witnesses" and information consultants for law firms in litigation involving personal injury cases, labor law, wills variation and breach of trust cases as well as class action suits. The development team has also received support from a number of lawyers with different areas of practice."

Canada. Department of Justice

Includes program and initiatives, a section on the Canadian Justice System and a helpful links section.

CCOHS : Canadian EnviroOSH Legislation

Health and safety acts and regulations, codes of practice and guidelines for Canadian federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions.

CanLII

Managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada, provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.

Judgements of the Supreme Court of Canada

"The Lexum collection contains the Supreme Court of Canada judgments since 1907 and judgments in leave applications since 2006. The collection is updated within minutes of the public release of the judgments by the Court. "

Justice Laws Website

Online source for the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada.

Labour Laws : Acts and Regulations

Provides access to relevant Acts, Regulations and additional information.

Parliament of Canada

Access to chamber and committee business, bills, members, and inter-parliamentary relations.

LexisNexis QuickLaw

Canadian court decisions, case law and legislation. Full-text.