|
First Search is the BCIT Library search engine and a good place to start. It simultaneously searches the Library's book collection, many full text journal articles, reports, DVDs, and electronic resources.
**If you're searching for articles on a topic, you'll want to search a database which is more focused on health sciences than First Search is. Here is a list of some full text databases.** |
Most books related to Public Health are located in the RA call number section on the 3rd floor. Additional material is found in other call number ranges. Here are some call numbers (a unique group of letters and numbers given to each item in the library according to its subject area)::
|
Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine |
RA421-790.95 |
| Environmental Health | RA565-600 |
| Food safety | RA 601 |
| Pools & spas, public carriers, buildings, etc. | RA 606 616 |
| Immunity and immunization | RA 638 |
| Transmission of disease | RA 639-642 |
| Disease (Communicable & noninfectious) and public health | RA643-645 |
| Home health care services | RA 645.3 |
| Emergency medical services | RA 645.5 |
| Epidemics. Epidemiology. Quarantine. Disinfection | RA648.5-767 |
| Mental health. Mental illness prevention | RA790-790.5 |
| Water pollution & Water purification | TD 420-480.5 |
Below are some basic subject headings that can be used in the catalogue to find environmental public health related books at BCIT:
Better Now: six big ideas to improve health care for all Canadians
Matters of Life and Death: public health issues in Canada
Encyclopedia of Public Health (2 volumes)
Health and Health Care Delivery in Canada
Environmental Health Ethics
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
Occupational and Environmental Health: recognizing and preventing disease and injuryEnvironmental Health/Public Health e-books at BCIT.
Public Health Textbook. By Faculty of Public Health (healthknowledge.org.uk)
Absolute Risk: methods and applications in clinical management and public health
The Chief Public Health Officer's report on the state of public health in Canada
Clay's Handbook of Environmental Health
Atlas of Human Poisoning and Envenoming
Ecosystems and Human Health
Environmental Health: Indoor Exposures, Assessments and Interventions
Environmental Health and Hazard Risk Assessment
Essentials of epidemiology in public health
Evidence-Based Public Health
Food Insecurity and Public Health
The Gale encyclopedia of environmental health
Handbook of Environmental Health
An Illustrated Guide to Infection Control
Introduction to public health
The Life-Cycle of Pharmaceuticals in the Environment
Report on carcinogens, 15th ed.
Soils and Human Health
Spatial Health Inequalities: adapting GIS tools and data analysis
Treating health care : how the Canadian system works and how it could work better
Dissertations/theses
-- UK’s doctoral research theses. 
Use the BCIT ILL Service to request for materials not owned by the Library (e-mail: interlib@bcit.ca).
