LibGuides: Environmental Public Health/Public Health Inspector: SDOH & health equity

Books

Print books
Ebooks

Look: Looking out/looking in

Call Number: BF 637 C45 A335 2018 (Canadian ed.)

The Library also has BF 637 C45 A34 2017

Spirituality, Health, and Healing: an integrative approach

Call Number: BL 65 M4Y68 2011

Cover Art Asian Religions in British Columbia

Call Number: BL 2530 C3 A85 2010

Culture, Health and Illness

Call Number: GN 296 H45 2007

Cover Art Communicating Across Cultures

Call Number: GN 345.6 T56 2019

Cover Art Understanding Global Cultures: metaphorical journeys through 34 nations, clusters of nations, continents, & diversity

Call Number: GN 345.7 G36 2016

Cover Art Understanding Cultural Differences

Call Number: HD 31 H229 1990

Cover Art Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: the essential cultural guide

Call Number: HF 5389 M674 2012

Cover Art Pathologies of Power: health, human rights, and the new war on the poor by Paul Farmer

Call Number: HM 821 F37 2005

Ethnic Variations in Dying, Death and Grief: diversity in universality

Call Number: R 726.8 I75 2015

Cover Art The Social Causes of Health and Disease

Call Number: RA 418 C658 2021

Cover Art Social determinants of health: Canadian perspectives

Call Number: RA 418.3 C3 S63 2016

Cover Art Under-served: health determinants of Indigenous, inner-city, and migrant populations in Canada.

Call Number: RA 418.3 C3 U55 2018

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: a Hmong child, her American doctors, and the collison of two cultures

Call Number: RA 418.5 T73F33 2012

Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness

Call Number: RA 418.5 T73S64 2017

The Library also has the 2013 edition

Asian voices : Asian and Asian American health educators speak out

Call Number: RA 448.5 A83A86 1998

Cover Art Determinants of indigenous peoples' health : beyond the social

Call Number: RA 450.4 I53 D48 2018

Cover Art An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada by Vasiliki Douglas

Call Number: RA 563 M56 D68 2022

Cover Art Homelessness and Health in Canada

Call Number: RA 564.9 H63 H64 2014

Cover Art Animals Health and Society: health promotion, harm reduction and health equity in a one health world

Publication Date: 2021

Transcultural Health Care

Purnell, 2012
The Library also has this book in print: RA 418.5 T73 P87 2014

Pocket Guide to Culturally Sensitive Health Care

Publication Date: 2011

Social Aspects of Health, Illness and Healthcare

Publication Date: 2011

Culture and health: a critical perspective towards global health

Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art A guide to cultural and spiritual awareness by Jean Serge Mootoo

Publication Date: 2005

This booklet provides information on many cultures and spiritual believes, and details some of their customs.

Exploring Culture: exercises, stories, and synthetic cultures

Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art Introduction to Determinants of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Peoples’ Health in Canada.

Publication Date: 2022

Achieving Environmental Health Equity: The Need and Opportunities for Public Health Action

Databases

Arctic Health This portal is a source for information on diverse aspects of the Arctic environment and the health of northern peoples
iPortal: The Indigenous Studies Portal it includes B.C. Cites electronic resources, including: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. "The vision of the Indigenous Studies Portal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous studies." An initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library
Native Health Database This Database contains contains "resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations."

Social determinants of health

Culture Clues™ are tip sheets on a few cultures

BMJ Global Health is an Open Access journal dedicated to publishing high-quality peer-reviewed content relevant to those involved in global health with access to information about health, health care and social determinants of health

Building Understanding of Environmental Health Toolkit Statistics, framing recommendations, graphics, and videos

GreenFacts Scientific reports on health, the environment and sustainable development

Addressing Health Inequities in Environmental Public Health in Alberta, 2019.

National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health. (2019). Access to health services as a social determinant of First Nations, Inuit and Métis health. Prince George, BC

Rideout, K. (2016). Areas of EPH practice impacted by the social determinants of health. Vancouver, BC: BC Centre for Disease Control.

Rideout, K., ed. (2017). Handbook of equity in environmental public health practice, version 1.0. Vancouver, BC: BC Centre for Disease Control.

Rideout K. and Oickle D. (2016). Integrating equity into environmental health practice: Findings of a pilot study.

Rideout, K., & Oickle, D. (2019). Glossary of health equity in the context of environmental public health practice. Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health, 73(9), 806-809.

Social Determinants of Inuit Health in Canada (2016)

Social determinants of health and health inequalities in Canada (2020)

Social Determinants of Health Healthy People 2030 -- USA

What is Health Equity? University of Toronto Libraries (updated 2020)

Breault, P., Nault, J., Audette, M., Échaquan, S., & Ottawa, J. (2021). Reflections on Indigenous health care: Building trust. Canadian Family Physician Medecin de Famille Canadien, 67(8), 567–568. https://doi.org/10.46747/cfp.6708567

Geographical concentration of COVID-19 cases by social determinants of health in 16 large metropolitan areas in Canada – a cross-sectional study. medRxiv 2021.07.23.21261039; doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.07.23.21261039

inequity/equity
discrimination
disparity
inequality
prejudice
injustice
racism
minority rights
justice
income gap
fairness

Ethics/Health Equity

B.C. Social Determinants of Health Standards
BCIT Resources on Respect, Diversity and Inclusion in Health
Canada. Social determinants of health and health inequalities It includes: Social and economic influences on health; Health inequalities in Canada; Supporting the reduction of health inequalities; Funding Opportunities
Canada. What are the social determinants of health?
Canadian Facts: Social Determinants of Health
Canadian Medical Association. SDOH
CDC. Social Determinants of Health "This website provides CDC resources for SDOH data, tools for action, programs, and policy. "
HealthyPeople.gov. Social Determinants of Health
WHO. Global Health Ethics The Global Health Ethics Unit provides a focal point for the examination of ethical issues raised by activities throughout the Organization. The unit also supports Member States in addressing ethical issues that arise in their own countries. . . . This unit’s work is particularly important in the context of contemporary health challenges and raises and addresses difficult questions in areas such as resource allocation, new technologies, decision-making in clinical care and public health."
WHO. Social Determinants of Health

Government publications

National Collaborating Centre for Determinants of Health Organization focusing on the social and economic factors that influence the health of Canadians
Public Health Agency of Canada: What Determines Health? Website contains info on key determinants, the research and evidence base, and health status indicators
Statistics Canada: Aboriginal Peoples Survey The Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS) is a national survey on the social and economic conditions of First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit.
Statistics Canada: Health Indicators, 82-221-X. "Over 80 indicators measure the health of the Canadian population and the effectiveness of the health care system. Designed to provide comparable information at the health region and provincial/territorial levels, these data are produced from a wide range of the most recently available sources."
Statistics Canada; Geography - Find Information by Region or Area Search by postal code to find demograhic information (age, income, ethnicity, etc.)by Dissemination Area,(small area composed of one or more neighbouring dissemination blocks, with a population of 400 to 700 persons). This is the smallest level of geography available for Census of Canada information.

CDC Environmental Justice
CDC Health Equity Considerations for Developing Public Health Communications
CDC Social Determinants of Health Comprehensive website featuring reports, conference updates, definitions, FAQs, maps, statistics, and more
CDC What is Health Equity?
Medline Plus Health Disparities

World Health Organization Social Determinants of Health Includes key concepts in SDofH, themes (e.g., early child development, urbanization), publications, conference updates, self-instructed courses, videos and more.

Global Health

U. S. Health in International Perspective: Shorter Lives, Poorer Health
Publication Date: 2013
ebook

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Global Health
Fang, R., & Millar, J. (2009). Canada's global position in life expectancy: a longitudinal comparison with the healthiest countries in the world. Canadian Journal Of Public Health, 100(1), 9-13 5p.
Health at a Glance: OECD Indicators "presents the most recent comparable data on the performance of health systems in OECD countries"
International Profiles of Health Care Systems, 2020 "This publication presents overviews of the health care systems of 18 counties. Each overview covers health insurance, public and private financing, health system organization and governance, health care quality and coordination, disparities, efficiency and integration, use of information technology and evidence-based practice, cost containment, and recent reforms and innovations."
MOST EFFICIENT HEALTH CARE 2014: COUNTRIES
OECD Health Statistics Database "The OECD Health Database offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. "
Pan American Health Organization
UNICEF
UN Millennium Development Goals
World's Largest Urban Areas
World Health Organization

Environmental Public Health/Public Health Inspector: SDOH & health equity

Social determinants of health (SDOH)