LibGuides: Environmental Public Health/Public Health Inspector: COVID-19

Content

Books

COVID-19: the Global Environmental Health Experience
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2021
COVID-19 Pandemic, Geospatial Information, and Community Resilience: global applications and lessons
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2021
Bats and Human Health: ebola, SARS, rabies and beyond
Call Number: QL 737 C5 B3897 2018
Spillover: animal infections and the next human pandemic
Call Number: RA 639 Q83 2012
Pandemic: tracking contagions, from cholera to coronaviruses and beyond
Call Number: RA 643 S52 2020
Psychological Insights for Understanding COVID-19 and Work
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2020

Scholarly publishers and databases

AccessMedicine: COVID-19 Central
Cochrane Library: Coronavirus (COVID-19) - infection control and prevention measures
Drugs for COVID-19 The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics lists resources including an updated table of treatments for COVID-19
Dynamed Coronavirus COVID-19 Information DynaMed is a clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care. Rigorous and daily review of medical literature by our physician and specialist staff ensures that timely and objective analysis, synthesis and guidance are at our users' fingertips. Dynamed has made the information free to everyone.
EBSCO: COVID-19 Information Portal Information from governments, agencies, and open-access sources aggregated by EBSCO
ECRI COVID-19 Resource Center ECRI has developed this resource center to help hospitals, ambulatory care, and aging care facilities protect healthcare workers, residents, and patients.
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center For the benefit of healthcare professionals, medical researchers and the public, Elsevier has created a Novel Coronavirus Information Center with freely available information on the novel coronavirus 2019-nCoV.
IEEE Xplore Articles and standards
JAMA Coronavirus Resource Center The JAMA Network has launched a Coronavirus Resource Center that offers the latest information on coronavirus diagnosis and treatment. Updated as soon as new content is published, the site features scientific resources, multimedia content, and guidance from the CDC and WHO. All of the JAMA Network articles and videos on the page are free to everyone.
Karger Publishers: Coronavirus (COVID-19)
The Lancet 2019-nCoV Resource Centre Free resource that brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published.
NEJM Coronavirus Resources All Journal content related to the Covid-19 pandemic is freely available.
NEJM Videos in Clinical Medicine Procedural training videos to assist medical professionals during the COVID-19 pandemic
OVID: COVID-19 Articles, resources, and tools from Ovid by Wolters Kluwer
Oxford University Press
ProQuest
PubMed Search Results on Coronavirus 2019-nCoV latest results on PubMed.
SAGE Publishing: Coronavirus (COVID-19) Research
Springer Nature: SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19
Taylor & Francis: COVID-19: Novel Coronavirus Content
UpToDate Coronavirus Information UptoDate physician authors, editors, and reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations. UptoDate has made this topic available for everyone.
Wiley Online: Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Outbreak

Government agencies & Organizations

BC Centre for Disease Control (BC CDC) The BC CDC provides provincial and national leadership in disease surveillance, detection, treatment, prevention and consultation.
Bibliography on COVID-19 Compiled by the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP) at the University of Minnesota
CABI: Global Health CABI has made 17,000 relevant records on coronavirus from Global Health database and CAB Abstracts free to access for three months. The coronavirus content including research on epidemiology, prevention, and control of SARS and MERS, and research on animal coronaviruses, has been made open access as a way of contributing to the response to the outbreak. To gain the access: * 'login’ and follow the registration instructions * copy and paste voucher code CV23359XB80 into ‘redeem a voucher’ section.
CDC Resource Page on Novel Coronavirus Latest situation summary. Information for health care professionals, public health professionals, laboratory professionals and the public.
Disinfecting your home if someone is sick from CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) USA
Health Canada It includes a table with with cases of COVID-19 by Provinces in Canada, and FAQ
Infection Prevention and Control Canada It has a listing of affected countries, # of cases and # of deaths
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) NICE has published its first rapid guidelines and evidence reviews on COVID-19. NICE has waived their normal licensing requirements for reuse or reproduction of their content for these products – so please do share with international colleagues. So far NICE has published guidelines on: critical care, kidney dialysis and systemic anticancer treatments. Work has started on evidence summaries on ACE inhibitors and ibuprofen and anticipate that these should be available by the end of the week. NICE is about to start work on Radiotherapy, Symptom management and Bone marrow transplants with an anticipated 5 day turn around and with more topics expected.
WHO (World Health Organization) The WHO is working to build a better, healthier future for people all over the world. Their Novel Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) emergency page has sections on: answering questions, travel advice, situation reports, media resources, research development, mythbusting, and more!
European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control | COVID-19
NIH/Fogarty International Center | Coronavirus news & resources for global health researchers
PAHO (Pan American Health Organization)

Mapping

BC COVID-19 Data dashboard for the latest case counts and information on recoveries, deaths, hospitalizations, testing and more
BC COVID-19 Public Exposures
COVID-19 epidemiological and economic research data Government of Canada. Data products about the epidemiological, social and economic dimensions of the outbreak. Includes datasets, dashboards, statistics, analyses, trends, charts and maps. Also includes a list of locations where people may have been exposed to the virus.
COVID-19 Maps & visuals
HealthMap
Interactive data visualizations of COVID-19 Interactive data map of COVID-19 cases across Canada. Shows number of cases, tests and deaths over time.
Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering.
WHO COVID-19 map cases
World Bank: Understanding the COVID-19 pandemic through data

Data visualization

COVID-19 Data Literacy is for Everyone: A Webcomic Source: Nightingale: The Journal of the Data Visualization Society, 5 May 2020
A data visualization expert answers 5 key questions on coronavirus graphics Source: World Economic Forum, 8 April 2020

Of Interest

Guardian article on the Spanish flu

Magalhães, J., Hartz, Z., Quoniam, L., Pereira, G. D. P., & Antunes, A. M. D. S. (2020). Big data in health and open science: a contribution to the management of knowledge in Covid-19. Revista Prevenção de Infecção e Saúde, 6. https://doi.org/10.26694/repis.v6i0

Environmental Health Resources for the COVID-19 Pandemic, NCCEH 2022