Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Public Health/Public Health Inspector: Citing

Cite, you must...

    To give credit to authors and acknowledge their ideas (whether you quote them or not).

    To avoid plagiarism.

    To allow others to track  the sources you consulted, so scholars can have conversations about your topic.

 

"Paw Print Cat Free Photo" by George Hodan is licensed under CC0 Public Domain

APA Citing -- 7th edition

citation or reference is the information given in a bibliography or a database about a particular title, which often includes:

  • article title or chapter title
  • periodical title or book title
  • author(s) or editor(s)
  • date of publication
  • publisher name
  • volume/issue (articles) or edition (books)
  • page range
  • electronic access (URL or DOI)

There are many ways to format citations. The style you choose depends on your field and the requirements set by your Instructor.

Template

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of Publication). Title of article: no capital after colonTitle of Journal, Volume(Issue)Page RangeURL or DOI

Examples

Print Article

Ellery, K. (2008). Undergraduate plagiarism: a pedagogical perspectiveAssessment & Evaluation in Higher Education, 33(5)507-516.

Online Article

Herbst-Damm, K. L., & Kulik, J. A. (2005). Volunteer support, marital status, and the survival times of terminally ill patientsHealth Psychology, 24, 225-229doi: 10.1037/0278-6133.24.225

Adapted from UWM Libraries

You can often find all the information you need for a journal article citation on the first page of that article.

**click on image to enlarge it**

Adapted from UWM Libraries

 

1. Database Citation Tools

Many library databases have built-in citations tools that auto-create a citation. The major citation styles are available choices in the databases citation tools.

These citations tools should only be considered a starting point, as they may contain formatting errors - always review auto-created citations to ensure they are correct.

2. Citation managers are tools that can help with your research process, including:

Organize and save citations/articles.

Create in-text citations.

Share citations/articles with colleagues.

Generate Reference Lists in a wide range of styles.

with thanks to MCPHS University

Examples of free citation management tools are: Mendeley and Zotero

APA activity

Plagiarism

Citation Managers

  • It's free, so you'll be able to use it forever, even after you leave BCIT.
  • It saves your digital files to your computer and backs them up in the cloud.
  • It works seamlessly with Microsoft Word.
  • It can also be used with Google Docs, LibreOffice, LaTeX, and other text editors.
  • It automates a lot of processes, like attaching PDFs, that require extra steps in RefWorks.

This OSU guide provides an overview of Mendeley along with training options, support and access information for Mendeley.

Some tips from Royal Roads University guide on Mendeley.

A comprehensive overview on How To Use Zotero.

This OSU guide provides an overview of Zotero along with training options, support and access information for Zotero.

Some tips: from Royal Roads University guide on Zotero and from University of Wisconsin.

The comparison chart below will help you to examine the different features available and figure out the best option for you.  

Zotero

  • Free and open source
  • Grab citations as you browse using Firefox, Chrome, orSafari plugin
  • Backup and sync on multiple devices via online account
  • Plugins for Word & LibreOffice
  • Third party mobile apps available

 

Create account

Download

Help guide

Mendeley

  • Free for everyone
  • Desktop interface for Windows, Mac, or Linux, and iOS app
  • Backup and sync on multiple devices via online account
  • Save and annotate PDFs

Create account

Download

Help guide

Adapted from Toronto Metropolitan University Library Citation Management