Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Public Health/Public Health Inspector: Journal Articles

Journal locator

What to do when you want to read an article but you cannot locate the full text? Use the citation information you have and follow the steps below to check if the BCIT library has the journal where the article is:

1. In the search box below, enter the title of the journal the article is published in (not the article title). Click search. 

                

2. If we have the journal, check the date range (make sure it matches the year your article was published in) and click on the appropriate link.

3. Once you are in the journal, locate a search box (it's different for every journal), copy & paste the title of the article. Click search. 

 

 4. If BCIT does not own the full text, request the article through interlibrary loan 

Databases

Databases can be discipline specific (such as MEDLINE), or multidisciplinary (such as Academic Search Complete). Many contain full text material, some only the reference and abstract.

  • Use the databases listed on this page to begin your search for scholarly articles.
  • These resources allow you to search multiple journals at once for articles on your topic.
  • Need help using the databases? Watch the training videos below or ask a librarian.
  • If the full-text of the article is not available in the database. Use thebutton, next to the citation/abstract, to locate it.
  • Most databases provide a limiter/filter option for peer-reviewed articles. If not sure - Ask a librarian.

Find more databases by browsing the database list by subject.  Health Sciences databases.

Research question:

In Canada, what are the strategies to deal with food insecurity?

It is a good place to start your research. Library databases provide a more efficient and effective means to access information. Advanced Google Searching tips

See below how to set up Google Scholar settings to find items held by the BCIT Library when you are searching off campus.

  • Click on Settings on the Google Scholar page
  • Click on Library Links in the left hand menu. 
  • Type 'BCIT' in the search box and Tick the checkboxes
  • Then Save

Google Scholar Search         

 

Be aware that:

  • Results vary in quality
  • Cannot search/sort by discipline
  • Few options to limit or narrow search results
  • Searching is imprecise when compared with discipline-specific databases.

Advanced Search (Government of Canada)

Governments sponsor research, collect statistics, grant patents, enact laws, participate in treaties, and more.  Their publications and websites offer valuable information for researchers.  

Using Google:  Since many government sites are freely available, Google searching can be a useful way to find government sources.   

Google Government Documents Search.  Custom search screen for Canadian government documents. Searches 775 core domains at the federal, provincial and municipal levels.

"We define open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. ..... we support the rights of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory.     

Quality Control: The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included."   from DOAJ - Definitions

Database training videos

Journals

Journals contain collections of articles and are generally published on a regular basis (e.g. issues are released monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly etc.). They can be found via the Library databases link.

Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication. They:

  • provide highly focused information
  • can be the source for the latest material on a topic
  • can sometimes be one of the few (or only) sources of scholarly information on a topic

There are different types of of journals. Not all journals are suitable for your assignments.

Types of journal articles

Peer-reviewed

Original research

Original research is a primary resource. These articles often include an introduction, methods, results and discussion sections.

Review articles

Review articles are secondary resources. They provide a comprehensive summary of research on a certain topic and often have an extensive list of references.

Not peer-reviewed

Editorials

In a scholarly publication, the editorial summarises the contributions in the publication, providing a balance between opinion and synthesis.

Book reviews

Book reviews are written by scholars and provide a summary of a newly published book.

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals

New research is often being presented in scholarly journals (also called peer-reviewed, refereed and academic journals).  All articles go through a peer-review process performed by subject experts before being published. You find scholarly journal articles by searching different databases. You can find a selection of databases in this guide.

What is the peer-review process more exactly? Watch the video from North Carolina State University to get a clear understanding:

In-Class Quiz #3

Forward reference searching is when a researcher identifies articles that cite an original article or work after it had been published.  This type of search focuses on the publications created after an an article's publication. 

One way to "look forward" in the research literature to see the most current information on a topic is to:
find an article in a reference list, and locate that article: 2 votes (40%)
find an article that is FABULOUS, and find where it has been cited it (using google scholar, for instance): 2 votes (40%)
find a librarian, begin weeping madly, and beg them for help: 1 votes (20%)
Total Votes: 5

In-Class Quiz #4

Which of the following search limiters is available in CINAHL but not in Google or Google Scholar?
Peer-Reviewed: 2 votes (50%)
Patient age and gender: 1 votes (25%)
All of the above: 1 votes (25%)
none of the above: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 4
What should you do if you find an article in a database that you want to read but don’t see a link for the full text?
Purchase it from the publisher's website: 0 votes (0%)
Find a different article: 0 votes (0%)
Click "Link to Full Text": 3 votes (100%)
Redo your search: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3

In-Class Quiz #5

Which of the following are characteristics of peer-reviewed articles?
Appear in magazines: 0 votes (0%)
Use simple vocabulary: 0 votes (0%)
Written by an expert: 2 votes (66.67%)
Always cite their sources: 1 votes (33.33%)
Total Votes: 3