LibGuides: Occupational Health & Safety: Statistics

Occupational Health & Safety Related Statistics

By Industry
Shared Data -- data at a glance, industry statistics, annual statistical repots
Young & new workers

2022 Report on Workplace Fatality and Injury Rates in Canada -- University of Regina
Health Canada - Environmental and Workplace Health
Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety -- Outlines where to find workplace injury statistics
Occupational Injuries in the Canadian Federal Jurisdiction, 2020

Association of Workers' Compensation Boards of Canada (AWCBC)

National Work Injury, Disease and Fatality Statistics (NWISP)
Data on work-related, accepted Lost Time Claims, Diseases and Fatalities across 20 major industrial groups and sorts it into 10 subset categories.
Injury and Fatality
Contains statistical data for a period of three years on the Number of Accepted Lost Time Claims, and the Number of Fatalities for each of the twelve Canadian workers’ compensation jurisdictions. A total for Canada is also shown for each category.

Statistics Canada

Data Tables related to Labour/Workplace Health and Work Absences

CDC: NIOSH and Statistics Gateway
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities - Bureau of Labour Statistics (BLS)
Injury facts
WISQARS: Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System - CDC
OSHA: Data and Statistics
Workplace Injury, Illness and Fatality Statistics - Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

International Labour Organization (ILO)

ILOSTAT - includes worldwide labour statistics such as Statistics on Safety and Health at Work

Data & Statistics

BC Stats
British Columbia statistics on business, economics, the environment, demographics, education, health and more.
WorkSafeBC Statistics 2020

ArcticStat A statistical database dealing with the countries, regions and populations of the Circumpolar Arctic. ArcticStat was created by the Canada Research Chair on Comparative Aboriginal Condition of Université Laval. It is officially supported by the Arctic Councill
Indigenous Peoples Reference Guide, Census of Population, 2021 (98-500-X2021009)
National Indigenous Peoples Day... by the numbers
Nunivaat: Nunavik Statistics Program
Statistics on Indigenous Peoples
Indigenous Statistics and Data

Canada Institute for Health Information (CIHI) Search Datasets, Indicators, Reports, Interactive Tools, and more
Census - Community Profiles
Government data, statistics, analyses and archival information to assist with research and discovery.
Health Canada
Health Inequalities Data Tool
Public Health Agency of Canada
Public health infobase This website offers a selection of easy to use tools for accessing and viewing health indicator data for chronic disease, injury, mental health, and child/maternal health.
Statistics Canada - Health
Statistics Canada: Health -- key indicators Includes factsheets, reports and data, supplied through Canada's unified government portal.

(CDC) Centre for Disease Protection and Control - Statistics The US National Center for Health Statistics provides statistical information aimed to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. It is America's principal health statistics agency.
American Lung Association- Data and Statistics The American Lung Association frequently releases reports on the effects of tobacco, pollution on the air, the world, and in the community.
Finding and Using Health Statistics A course on health statistics from the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology.
MedlinePlus: Health Statistics The Health statistics page of the MedlinePlus Web site provides links to latest news in health statistics, statistics for specific conditions and different age groups, as well as statistical agencies and organizations.
National Cancer Institute - Statistics The U.S. National Cancer Institute (NCI) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, (DHHS). NCI was established by Congress in 1937, NCI's main responsibilities include coordinating the National Cancer Program; conducting and supporting cancer-related research; training physicians and scientists; and disseminating state-of-the-art information about cancer detection, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, control, palliative care, and survivorship.
OSHA: Data and Statistics
Vital and Health Statistics Series (CDC) Data provided by the Centers for Disease Control. Provides data from 24 series from the U.S. National Health Survey, National Survey of Family Growth, National Health Interview Survey, National Health Examination Survey, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Surveys, and the Hispanic Health and Nutrition Examination Survey.

Demographic and Health Surveys Program "The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries"
European Health Information Gateway Health data in the WHO European Region. Includes information overviews by country, region and topic.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) data A source of data on diseases such as HIV, tuberculosis and malaria. Also includes facts on health workforce, health expenditures & demographic information. Allows creation of custom data sheets & comparison across countries. Produced by the World Health Organisation. The Global Health Observatory provides data on a range of health related topics.
HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map Maintained by Harvard and the Children's Hospital of Boston, this interactive map allows you to monitor outbreaks by disease or country. Data obtained by monitoring news agencies to create early warning system.
HealthStats HealthStats is the World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics.
ILOSTAT database > Browse Topic > Working conditions > safety and health at work
International Data Base It offers a searchable demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Produced in the US.
UNICEF Statistics Data ...from low and middle-income countries.... on more than 100 indicators used to assess the situation of children and women in the areas of education, health, gender equality, rights and protection
United Nations Statistics Division: Demographics and Social Statistics A range of statistics on different topics areas including health.
The World Bank - DataBank DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool which contains collections of time series data on the variety of topics.

Data Visualization Tools

Visualization.ch Selected Tools
Directory of data tools, including tools for managing data and creating charts and visualizations.
Chart Chooser
Find chart types and download templates for Excel and Powerpoint

Health Data Ebooks

Big Data and Health Analytics
Publication Date: 2014
The Patient Revolution: how big data and analytics are transforming the health care
Publication Date: 2015
Using Data Management Techniques to Modernize Healthcare
Publication Date: 2016

Open Health Data

GeneLab "GeneLab is an interactive, open-access resource where scientists can upload, download, store, search, share, transfer, and analyze omics data from spaceflight and corresponding analogue experiments. Users can explore GeneLab datasets in the Data Repository, analyze data using the Analysis Platform, and create collaborative projects using the Collaborative Workspace"
A Handbook of Health Economic Statistics 2017 Statistics presented in separate sections on the economic burden of illness, health care resources, health behaviours, health status and demographics, and health system performance
Journal Open Health Data The journal features peer-reviewed papers describing health datasets with high reuse potential. The journal works with data repositories to ensure that the associated datasets are archived, preserved, and openly available.